Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Axles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-24-2011, 08:44 PM   #1

1972 31' Excella 500
flint , Michigan
Unhappy Axles?? please check out pic ..

Hello,

I am about to buy this airstream and i am concerned about how low the airstream is sitting on these tires. I am a newbie and this is my first airstream purchase. Can anyone give advise?? I am not sure if this is normal. The tires are flat and not sure if that's making it sit low. Does it look like the axles are shot?

Thank you to anyone with any advise !!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0944.jpg
Views:	200
Size:	55.0 KB
ID:	125246  
petlovers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 08:49 PM   #2
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

1957 30' Sovereign of the Road
1959 28' Ambassador
1949 24' Limited
Peru , New York
Its 38 years old, yeah they're done. Jack the trailer up & I bet the wheels will hardly drop at all. You'll probably have a hell of a time taking the wheels off to get them repaired too.
Colin
Colin H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 08:55 PM   #3
Always learning

1972 29' Ambassador
1962 19' Globetrotter
1951 21' Flying Cloud
Central , Texas
Send a message via Yahoo to Lance M
This trailer needs new axles. Here is my very own axle thread. Replacing the axles isn't the same as say...preforming a hot section inspection on a Lycoming turbine engine but you need some mechanical abilities. It is rather easy stuff actually.

Work is never done, so take time to play!
Lance M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 08:55 PM   #4
Rivet Master

Airstream - Other
2016 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Bosque Farms , New Mexico