Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-24-2013, 07:56 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1959 24' Tradewind
Walter's Falls , Ontario
Axle wonder

Hi Folks
Newbie here, just bought a 1959 Tradewind, seemingly in good condition for age, going to reno it. It was towed 200 miles recently from its moose hunting environment [I still haven't towed it myself..and remains in previous owners yard] and was reported a good success, wheels were greased etc..

My concern; is given its age, do these old beasts ever have axle problems [break], or am I being paranoid? I am confident with all other aspects of the trailer, but wonder if peoples experience may come in handy. Is it safe to say I should leave it static and not move it very much? Or, are they known to keep going with proper care.... for miles and miles..
Understanding of course, all are in different shape with wear and tear.

I will indeed search for such topics here.
cheers
Muskie
Muskie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 09:19 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1966 22' Safari
Hilltop Lakes , Texas
Read Inland RV's website about axles.
mimiandrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 09:57 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1972 Argosy 20
Snoqualmie , Washington
Do you have a torsion axle or a leaf spring axle? If you have a torsion axle then inland's post is appropriate. If its a leaf spring then it may be possible to rebuild. A qualified mechanic could tell you if parts are still available. In either case it's old enough that the axle should be a major safety concern.
DryFly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 09:59 AM   #4
Site Team

2002 25' Safari
Dewey , Arizona
A 59 TW should have a spring axle.

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 10:05 AM   #5
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

1957 30' Sovereign of the Road
1959 28' Ambassador
1949 24' Limited
Peru , New York