Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-18-2010, 04:46 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1963 16' Bambi
Philadelphia PA, and Takoma Park MD
Send a message via AIM to roadtrip07
Axle Newbie

Hi all,
I'm trying to figure out exactly how to approach axle replacement for my 63 Bambi. Like the title states, I am a total newb, so I'm just trying to gain a better understanding of the basics. The three sources that I've found most people get new axles from are Inland, Axis, and Dexter. I know Inland is the OEM distributor, and all their axles are made to fit the old models, but I just can't afford their more expensive pricing, as much as I'd like to. So, this means I have to do some measuring, and supplying of information to either Dexter or Axis about my new axle, and I really don't want to muck that up. Anyone else have any tips on this? What exactly do they need to know? My old axle has a 5 lug configuration, and I've read that the angle is 22.5 degrees, although I've heard some people say they request 32 degrees now. My axle had shocks attached to it, does that figure in somehow? Forgive me for not knowing what I'm sure is basic stuff. Thanks..
roadtrip07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 05:58 PM   #2
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
asbury park , New Jersey
if you have a 63 its probably a torsion axle, no shocks needed. I didn't want to take the risk of messing up the order - or installing wrong - we went with andy @ inland. the install was quite simple, which is what we were concerned about - i guess i could've gotten a cheaper axle but i didnt want to risk it.
NJtoNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 05:58 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2016 30' Classic
Hinckley , Ohio
Axel question

I did my 65 Caravel this spring. This is basiclly the same trailer.