Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Axles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-11-2006, 08:13 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1963 24' Tradewind
Pittsford , New York
Axle for '63 Tradewind

Newbie here. I have a 1963 24' Tradewind (Serial #: 243T126 if that helps).

Would like to get new Axle, tires and Rims. Have read a ton of posts and I am more confused than ever.

Can anybody tell me what the model number for the Axel I would need and a good source for tire and rims. Phone numbers would be great so I could order.

Much thanks,

-Sig
sigv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 08:27 AM   #2
Rivet Master

, Minnesota
Sig,

Whether you do the work yourself, or have someone else do it, you should contact a few local shops that handle Dexter axles. Here is their list, there are a couple in Rochester.

http://www.dexteraxle.com/new_york

You should also have the trailer weighed with all it's current accountrements and luggage; you may want to upsize the axle rating, especially if you have or want to add A/C or a greywater tank.

Although I talk alot about Dexter axles, I have no connection to them. You could also contact Axis axles or Henchen, although you might end up paying more in freight than if you use a local distributor.

The Henschen axles are available from Inland RV in California. Axis is located in Indiana.
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 09:06 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1973 23' Safari
1977 23' Safari
2018 25' Flying Cloud
Palmer Lake , Colorado
Send a message via Skype™ to Zeppelinium