Old 06-05-2005, 11:09 AM   #1
round things are best!

Axle Condition?

Hi Everyone,

I just bought this 1976 Argosy and I was hoping you could help me assess my axles as I am no professional.

I read the article from Inland RV and many posts. From what I understand I think my front axle may be at a zero angle and my rear Im not sure if its + or -

The trailer seems to sit great like all the good examples shown on this forum and i looked at the axle arms or (torsion arms???) on other argosys and airstreams around the same age and it seems the same.

But I am not really all that sure,

I thought i would post some pics and see what you all thought!

Thanks for any help! DAVE.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	117-1713_IMG.JPG
Views:	97
Size:	41.5 KB
ID:	12607   Click image for larger version

Name:	117-1716_IMG.JPG
Views:	85
Size:	52.6 KB
ID:	12608  

Click image for larger version

Name:	117-1720_IMG.JPG
Views:	88
Size:	41.0 KB
ID:	12609  

Old 06-05-2005, 11:49 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
1964 26' Overlander
1977 25' Tradewind
Eastern , Washington
I'm of the opinion that the axles are old, but the angle is still good.
One question I have is what does it look like under a full load. This might be more telling as to condition.
I would start up an axle piggy bank, your going to need it in the near furture.

Old 06-05-2005, 11:58 AM   #3
VAC President

1977 27' Overlander
1954 25' Cruiser
1990 34.5' Airstream 345
VC Highlands , Nevada
Send a message via Skype™ to Buttercup
What are we looking for??

What should we inspect for when looking at the axles?? I never really inspected mine. They sat for 13 years with no movement so I can't imagine they are too bad.
Buttercup's Web Site. WBCCI #17330, 11281 & 7830. VAC Past President, TAC NV-2 & NV-3
Buttercup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2005, 12:04 PM   #4
Rivet Master

1977 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
1964 26' Overlander
1977 25' Tradewind
Eastern , Washington
Quote: