Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-25-2013, 04:44 PM   #1
jonathan

1969 23' Safari
Homestead , Florida
1969 Land Yacht

Here we go again, seems like I have opened a "can of worms"on inspecting the floor I decided to replace all the flooring I have removed the back section only to find extensive rust to the rear section of the chassis I am awaiting new sections to be fabricated which I will then have bolted and welded back into place, while I am waiting for this I have started to inspect the axle and think that as I am this far I might as well replace it, I have looked on the Dexter Axle wed site and have written to them but I have no knowledge of what I should be looking for, it seems that all other Airstream besides mine have some sort of leaf spring set up, mine has no leaf springs in sight.... is this right?? Can anyone help me and tell me what is best for me to do..??
Thanks agian everyone for your help, I did find a site on axle replacement but can;t seem to find it again
jonnyregis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 05:02 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1968 24' Tradewind
Rural, blink and you'll miss it , Missouri
I called Andy at Inland RV. I gave him my trailer's ID number and he sent the correct axles. Granted they were delivered from Redneck trailer supply but he took all of the guess work out of it for me.

Eljay

1968 Tradewind Double.
eljay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 05:04 PM   #3

2017 26' Flying Cloud
Alamo Heights , Texas
Airstreams only used leaf springs until '61 or so, all the trailers after that use a torsion axle.