Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Marketplace > For Sale & Wanted > Parts Archive
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-06-2003, 09:06 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1977 31' Sovereign
North Vancouver , British Columbia
Question Battery Quick Disconnect

Good Day. This is my first time on the forum. Please be gentle.

My battery side cable quick disconnect has corroded. My local RV guy laughed out loud when I asked for a replacement. He is suggesting I pull new cable from the fuse box to both battery boxes and put new ends on. REALLY????. Has anyone had to do this? Am I able to get a new quick disconnect cable? If so, where?

Thank you.

Sean
Old 09-06-2003, 10:18 AM   #2
Just a member

1978 28' Argosy 28
Lutz , Florida
Send a message via AIM to thenewkid64 Send a message via Yahoo to thenewkid64
Sean,

The quick disonnects that came with the trailer are no longer made.
So you have 3 options.
Salvage yard, search for colaws on the forum.
Direct wire like the service guy said.
Newer type of quick disconnect like used in a stock car Click here to see what I mean.

Good luck, and welcome to the forum!
WBCCI #5501 AIR # 49
-------------------------
1978 Argosy 28 foot Motorhome

Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something. -- Plato

Old 09-06-2003, 11:11 AM   #3
Retired Moderator

1992 29' Excella
madison , Wisconsin
snow plow

sean

i see by your sig. that you are in the great white north.

stop by a place that sells snowplows, they should have just what you are looking for.

newer plow setups are quick disconnect, the plug for the cables look just like what brett posted.

-or-

find a business that services electric fork lifts, they use the same plug also.