Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-22-2019, 11:28 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Metairie , Louisiana
Which Furnace or Water Heater ?

Hello,
I am brand new to the Airstream World and I just purchased a 1976 Land Yacht Trade Winds that needs a total restoration. While the guts of the furnace and water heater are in the trailer, there are no controls to be found.
I would like to replace the Water Heater and Furnace and am seeking advice.
Should I upgrade to a Tankless water Heater? Which brand?
Should I upgrade to a Catalectic Furnace Heater? Which brand?
Are there units that do both (water and air) together?

Thanks, Al
altemplet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 11:49 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2000 25' Safari
Davidson County , NC Highlands County, FL
Tankless or tank type:
1. Tankless costs more to install.
2. Tankless does not have the option for both propane and 120v electric heating. (Electricity heats water for free in campground)
3. Tankless = endless hot water
4. my experience with 6 gal tank = on electric possibly running out after 2 quick showers OR on propane (or propane & electric) with two people we have never run out of hot water. With three we have had to wait for recovery during the third shower.

Furnace or Catalytic
1. Catalytic will not protect water or waste tanks below floor during freezing weather.
2. Catalytic requires constant ventilation (window/vent open) due to combustion gas/waste (moisture and carbon monoxide)
3. Furnace does not require constant ventilation because combustion air intake and combustion gas are on the exterior.
4. IMO, Catalytic is intended to be a supplemental heat, not intended to be used in sleeping quarters.
Old 05-22-2019, 12:57 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Al, first welcome to the asylum. AJ gave you a very good summary of options.