Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2004, 12:44 AM   #1
Cartoon Character
 
Porky Pig's Avatar
 
2004 34' Classic
On The Road , U.S.A.
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 885
Images: 10
Unhappy Where did my furnace go?

It was a bit cold this morning .. so I decided to turn the furnace on for a heat blast. Much to my amazement ... when I turned on my Duo-Therm "Comfort Control" panel and cycled through the options ..."Furnace" was no longer available. All I have is ... Fan, Cool and Heat Pump.

So, I went outside and checked the furnace .. the switch is on .. and the inline fuse is not tripped. I'm baffled.
__________________

__________________
Porky

TrailerGypsies.com
WBCCI #3405 — Escapees #80360

I live the life I love and I love the life I live.
-- Willie Dixon
Porky Pig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2004, 06:43 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,482
Images: 19
Comfort control panel? Cycling through options?

Exactly what was wrong with a switch with three settings: Heat/Off/Cool?

We recently sold an office building. One of the major improvements was I had replaced all 25 or so computerized thermostats with Honeywell mechanical units. No one could ever understand how to program the computerized models. Batteries failed. Circuit boards failed. It was just insane. After the change NOT ONE TENANT ever called to ask how to switch from "heat" to "cool". My thermostat service call expense dropped to precisely $0.00.

Mark
__________________

__________________
j54mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2004, 06:55 PM   #3
Well Preserved

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Porky Pig
It was a bit cold this morning .. so I decided to turn the furnace on for a heat blast. Much to my amazement ... when I turned on my Duo-Therm "Comfort Control" panel and cycled through the options ..."Furnace" was no longer available. All I have is ... Fan, Cool and Heat Pump.

So, I went outside and checked the furnace .. the switch is on .. and the inline fuse is not tripped. I'm baffled.
Porky, this may sound like a stupid question, but did you have that setting before?
Terry
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2004, 12:58 AM   #4
Cartoon Character
 
Porky Pig's Avatar
 
2004 34' Classic
On The Road , U.S.A.
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 885
Images: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by argosy20
Porky, this may sound like a stupid question, but did you have that setting before?
Terry
Yes ... I had the "option" to choose the Furnace .. or maybe it was labled "heat" ... now I am unable to do that.

I do not have a way to choose the Atwood Furnace .. select a temperature and turn it on. Perhaps the board to the furnace is bad?

Looks like I'll be giving AS a call on Monday.
__________________
Porky

TrailerGypsies.com
WBCCI #3405 — Escapees #80360

I live the life I love and I love the life I live.
-- Willie Dixon
Porky Pig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2004, 06:04 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
yukionna's Avatar
 
Massachusetts
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: 1964 17' Bambi II
Posts: 4,278
Images: 18
Send a message via Yahoo to yukionna
It's a board problem

Porky...you aren't losing your mind...my Bambi has the same thermostat and "furnace" is one of the options. Because the unit uses a board to cycle through and manage the options, it is most likely a board problem.
__________________
WBCCI Region One

Attitude is the only difference between ordeal and adventure
yukionna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2004, 11:38 PM   #6
Cartoon Character
 
Porky Pig's Avatar
 
2004 34' Classic
On The Road , U.S.A.
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 885
Images: 10
Just a follow up to my furnace problem.

I talked with Jim at Airstream ... he suggested I check the "blue wire" and if that failed .. to climb up on the roof .. remove the AC shroud .. and check the dip switch.

So I put a meter on the blue wire .. and sure enough ... the side running from the AC was dead. So I got off my lazy pig butt ... climbed up on top ... and sure 'nuff ... the dip switch for the furnace wasn't totally switched over to the ON position. Must have vibrated loose.

Anyway ... we're warm now.
__________________
Porky

TrailerGypsies.com
WBCCI #3405 — Escapees #80360

I live the life I love and I love the life I live.
-- Willie Dixon
Porky Pig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 06:15 AM   #7
Well Preserved

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Porky Pig
Just a follow up to my furnace problem.

I talked with Jim at Airstream ... he suggested I check the "blue wire" and if that failed .. to climb up on the roof .. remove the AC shroud .. and check the dip switch.

So I put a meter on the blue wire .. and sure enough ... the side running from the AC was dead. So I got off my lazy pig butt ... climbed up on top ... and sure 'nuff ... the dip switch for the furnace wasn't totally switched over to the ON position. Must have vibrated loose.

Anyway ... we're warm now.
At least it was an easy fix. Hope heights don't bother you.
Terry
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2004, 06:42 PM   #8
3 Rivet Member
 
aluminauts's Avatar

 
vancouver , Washington
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 136
Images: 6
Thanks for the update

Since we have almost the same setup as you have, I was hoping that the root cause would work out to be easy to identify and easier to fix.
Glad it wasn’t “cosmic rays” working on your software or “little green gremlins” that sneak around looking to make perfectly good equipment act-up when they are needed.
__________________

__________________
Aluminauts
2003 34' Airstream Classic
2007 Chevy Silverado 2500HD
Allison Duramax 4X4
Hensley Arrow hitch
Kodiak / Actibrake Disc Brakes
Tekonsha Prodigy brake controller
Doran Pressure Pro
WBCCI #2984 Air # 4173
aluminauts is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace sets off smoke alarm silverback 2002 - 2005 International 37 11-12-2006 09:24 PM
Surburban Furnace Ills - HELP Cat Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 22 07-07-2005 08:22 AM
R & R a Suburban Furnace Janets Husband Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 3 06-24-2004 08:19 PM
2- Questions -Switches? & Furnace Wires? GT1963 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 28 05-12-2004 05:39 PM
CO problem with furnace :eek: yukionna Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 2 04-25-2004 07:35 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.