Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-12-2012, 06:55 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2014 25' FB International
Little Rock , Arkansas
Water Heater Won't Turn Off

I'm fairly new at this....'this' being Airstream and RV'ing. Our first few times out in our new AS (2011 23FB) we never turned on the water heater. Now it won't turn off. I've been really busy with family and work, so I have been turning off the propane tanks between trips. Cold snap coming tonight, so I turned on the tanks and set thermostat to prevent freezing. Walking back to the house I noticed a gas smell coming from water heater. I held a match under the pilot as a test and sure enough the pilot light came on.

So...dumb question: I assume this isn't normal? When the switch for the heater is flipped off shouldn't the gas turn off? I'm guessing either the control board or a valve is bad?

Thanks for the help.
Landrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 07:05 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
You confuse me. There is no pilot light to come on in an electronic ignition water heater. That function is done by the electronic ignitor.

If you have a gas leak in the piping I guess you could have a smell and could light the leak off, or if the electric gas valve is not closing it could be leaking some gas into the burner tube that you are lighting.

In any event, see if there is a valve on the gas line to the water heater. All older AS products had gas valves for each appliance, but I am not sure about the newer ones such as you have. For now, if there is a gas valve on the incoming line, shut it off and have the system looked at later when you have time. If there is no valve, I would recommend turning off the gas tanks and using an electric heater in the rig to keep it warm enough to remain above freezing, again get the water heater fixed soon.