Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2016, 12:27 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
2014 27' FB International
Irving , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Blog Entries: 1
Two A/C units - Why one thermostat?

We have a 2014 27FB with two Dometic A/C units and one thermostat. When one A/C has a problem, they both go down. This has happened twice. Not fun when it's 100 degrees. Can I isolate the A/C units, each having its own thermostat. This makes better sense to me.
__________________

__________________
jrschro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 01:32 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member
 
Durango , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrschro View Post
We have a 2014 27FB with two Dometic A/C units and one thermostat. When one A/C has a problem, they both go down. This has happened twice. Not fun when it's 100 degrees. Can I isolate the A/C units, each having its own thermostat. This makes better sense to me.
Not sure what you mean by when one has a problem they both go down.

They should be zoned with with their own separate temp controls. I have one thermostat too, but it has a zone 1 and zone 2. I can set each zone for A/C on off, one at a time, both on at once, heat in one A/C in another. Fan on auto, off, high, med, low for each separate zone.

Granted the thermostat is complicated and that the temp sensor isn't very accurate. But they both should work independently.
__________________

__________________
RVDreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 02:17 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 6,363
Welcome to the forum! Sorry for the conditions you are having to endure.

See the recent comments on the following thread about re-booting the thermostat:

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f427...ld-151393.html

Just a wild guess on my part, but you might consider going through the relatively easy steps of this reset, to see if it helps.

You could also bounce up a level here, and check the various topics posted on this sub-forum:

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f427/

There may be other helpful threads.

Good luck,

Peter
__________________
OTRA15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 02:33 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
J. Morgan's Avatar

 
1972 31' Sovereign
1975 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
Benton , Arkansas
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5,046
Images: 11
I am with the OP.

Why not just a simple thermostat in each zone?

Sometimes the more simple solution is best imho.


Superat stultitia.
__________________
The fact that I am opinionated does not presuppose that I am wrong......

J. Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 04:17 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,311
If you dig into it far enough with the manufacturer, you will find out what you are calling a thermostat is really a control computer. Each A/C unit has it's own actual thermostat built into the PC board, and the computer just tell it what temp to work at.

And you can actually disable the thermostat in the board, and work on the computer's thermostat by disconnecting the white wire on the A/C unit's board, but don't do more than one of them, usually the front one closest to the computer.

I don't like the system either, but it is what it is, and was actually designed as a "bells and whistles" feature for the "discriminating" owner.....something expensive to replace when it goes bad.
__________________
Regards,
Steve
SteveH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 04:32 PM   #6
Well Preserved

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,193
The climate control computer has a separate sensor for the second a/c, usually somewhere near the second unit. The first unit uses the internal thermostat of the CCC to control it.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 04:32 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 6,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrschro View Post
We have a 2014 27FB with two Dometic A/C units and one thermostat. When one A/C has a problem, they both go down. This has happened twice. Not fun when it's 100 degrees. Can I isolate the A/C units, each having its own thermostat. This makes better sense to me.
Wondering if you tried resetting the thermostat per the earlier comment?
__________________
OTRA15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 06:05 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by overlander63 View Post
The climate control computer has a separate sensor for the second a/c, usually somewhere near the second unit. The first unit uses the internal thermostat of the CCC to control it.
This is true but only if the thermostat on the first unit's board is disconnected.
__________________
SteveH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 10:59 AM   #9
1 Rivet Member
 
2014 27' FB International
Irving , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Blog Entries: 1
E1 Error

Thanks for the information. Both times the AC went out we had an E1 error on the control computer. We tried to initialize and reset the control computer and disconnect the wire. With the E1 error both AC would not work. The first time we had to have a technician reprogram the control computer. The second time we had to replace the circuit board on the number 2 AC. I guess I need to learn how to work on these things myself. They alway go out on Sunday when its 100 degrees.
__________________
jrschro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 09:31 PM   #10
2 Rivet Member
 
Ambot's Avatar
 
2016 28' Pendleton
Cybertron , Illinois
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 57
Maybe your 50amp service is not maintaining the necessary voltage. Have you verified your power is good?
__________________

__________________
Ambot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2016 27FB One or Two AC Units? gvsummer 2016 - Current Flying Cloud 61 02-08-2016 09:49 PM
Two a/c units or one????? Remax gal Buyer Guidelines 4 09-29-2013 10:30 PM
Are all A/C units Rooftop units? NJtoNC Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 5 01-19-2013 09:23 PM
Vintage Units VS New Units Cstar On The Road... 4 05-07-2004 10:22 PM
Why, Why, Why aviontt On The Road... 22 11-20-2003 08:41 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.