Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2016, 07:20 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
2007 19' International CCD
The Woodlands , Texas
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 45
Thermostat upgrade

I replaced my furnace thermostat, Atwood Model HFH-2000 with a Hunter Model 42999B. It's a two wire system so I just connected one wire to W and the other to Rh with the jumper installed from Rh to Rc. When I power the airstream (via In Use switch) after having made the new thermostat connections, the furnace fuse blows. I reinstalled the old Atwood thermostat and all works great (except I rather have a digital). Tried to reinstall the new Hunter blowing the fuse again. Any Ideas how I can get it his new Hunter digital thermostat working?


Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
__________________

__________________
eberrobw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2016, 10:01 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
drboyd's Avatar

 
1978 25' Tradewind
Metro Phoenix , Arizona
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,428
The original Atwood thermostats were made to handle the furnace current; your new digital one is probably not. I changed my thermostat and had to add an interposing relay, because it kept burning the contacts in the new stat.

That said, I have no idea why your fuse is blowing, but check for contact where the wires come through the wall.

There's also a toll free number in the manual: http://www.manualguru.com/hunter-fan...-manual/page-2
__________________

__________________
"Between what matters and what seems to matter, how should the world we know judge wisely?" - E.C. Bentley, Trent's Last Case
drboyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 09:01 AM   #3
2 Rivet Member
 
2007 19' International CCD
The Woodlands , Texas
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 45
Thanks for the reply. I wired the new 42999b per the 2-wire heat only diagram on page 2 of the document you provided. I'm wondering why I really need (remove) the supplied jumper between Rh and Rc and if I changed the two wire connections to W and Rh? Anyway, I'll call Atwood. Thanks for your help.


Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
__________________
eberrobw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 09:27 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,811
Images: 12
Reinstall the original thermostat and buy a digital thermometer. Would be better than having to introducing a relay system to allow the new stat to work.

Other than visual display there is nothing the new stat will have to offer.
__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 11:02 AM   #5
Site Team
 
, Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,940
Images: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by HowieE View Post
Reinstall the original thermostat and buy a digital thermometer. Would be better than having to introducing a relay system to allow the new stat to work.

Other than visual display there is nothing the new stat will have to offer.
Really. I "downgraded" from digitial to analog when the digital failed and I couldn't repair in the field.
__________________
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 11:36 AM   #6
2 Rivet Member
 
2007 19' International CCD
The Woodlands , Texas
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 45
Thermostat Replacement

Thanks all for your help. It's just sort of a challenge for me to figure out how to get this Hunter digital thermostat working. Still messing with it, I'll let you know how I make out.
__________________
eberrobw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 02:09 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
KYAirstream's Avatar
 
1979 31' Sovereign
Northeastern , Kentucky
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 622
Thermostat upgrade

I installed the same thermostat and didn't have any issues. I just connected the two wires and did not install a jumper. That said, a jumper may have already been in place. I can check the next time I'm at my camper. Also, I'm not sure what difference it would make since this is essentially just a switch supplying juice to the furnace, but my furnace is a Suburban.
__________________
KYAirstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 02:46 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
KYAirstream's Avatar
 
1979 31' Sovereign
Northeastern , Kentucky
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 622
Another thought is that maybe there is something wrong with the thermostat itself, thereby causing your fuse to blow.
__________________

__________________
KYAirstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat replacement jcanavera 2001 Safari 7 07-26-2017 09:58 AM
'96 Excella thermostat replacement/upgrade bobjackson Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 0 12-28-2011 05:12 PM
Digital Thermostat jcanavera Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 27 12-28-2009 04:20 PM
04 furnace thermostat upgrade kstampa Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 3 12-24-2009 07:51 AM
installing the thermostat upgrade on Carrier shermantic Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 0 08-03-2009 10:57 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.