Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2013, 07:21 PM   #1
New Member
 
2012 25' Flying Cloud
McKinney , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Thermostat reading -05 degrees inside temp

I am getting inside temp readings of -05 on my thermostat. Heat pump and furnace work on occasion and AC seems to work fine and cools well. When I attempt to start the furnace or heat pump, they fail to start and the inside temp continues to read -05. The thermostat has been replaced and the techs at the service center claim to have ran all 3 systems for 3 days with no failures. Has this happened to anyone else? Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
CJBrent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 07:28 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
MrUKToad's Avatar

 
2011 28' International
Chatham , Ontario
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,372
Images: 17
Blog Entries: 13
We collected our Airstream from storage on Friday and found that the thermostat control wasn't working correctly. I could reduce the heat setting but not increase it. After a bit of thought I decided that it may need a reset (too much time on the PC and you know all about resets!). The instruction manual showed showed how to do it and 30 seconds later the problem was solved. Try a reset, it won't do any harm.
__________________

__________________
Steve; also known as Mr UK Toad

"You can't tow that with that!"

http://toadsoftowedhaul.com
MrUKToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 07:59 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,410
Images: 5
Contact forum member Lewster.
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 09:00 PM   #4
Prairie Schooner II
 
Jim Flower's Avatar

 
2012 30' International
1997 25' Safari
1967 20' Globetrotter
Burlington , Ontario
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,182
The heating / cooling system was not working correctly on my 2012 International Sig last year and I eventually found the fault in the telephone line that connects the thermostat and the ac unit. There was a loose connection on the ac end and once it was plugged in properly, all was normal again. To gain access to the plug on the ac, the inside cowling has to be removed by undoing about 6 screws. As you can see, there are a few things that can go wrong. One needs tiny fingers to poke around in the ac and lucky for me, a son was available at the time. Good luck.
__________________
Jim
Jim Flower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 12:31 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
Silver Goose's Avatar
 
2008 27' Classic FB
Burkburnett , Texas
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJBrent View Post
I am getting inside temp readings of -05 on my thermostat. ...
If your CCC (thermostat) ever loses 12v power, results are unpredictable and as MrUKToad suggests, a reset is simple to do, it can't hurt and frequently fixes the problem. If I understand your post, the -05 on the display was your original problem and a shop replaced the CCC for that, never saw the problem, and the new CCC is now behaving the same way, and sometimes the heatpump/furnace operates and sometimes it doesn't. When one or the other does operate, does the CCC display appear normal or is the -05 always visible?

If it comes and goes, it sounds like you have an intermittent problem and that sort of thing is the curse of the service tech and a frustration for the owner. Jim's suggestion to replug the connectors is an excellent next step following the CCC reset. On occasion, a part gets replaced and the problem resolved, but the part was never faulty, it was the physical replugging that was the real fix. Additionally, manufacturers often maintain a database of symptoms that authorized service providers should have access to. If the displayed -05 is significant, Dometic may know what this points to. Hopefully this is happening within the warranty period.
__________________
AIR 47751
Air Safe Hitch, Reese Dual Cam 800#, Centramatics
Silver Goose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 02:39 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
richinny's Avatar
 
2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,122
i had the same problem and found the telephone connector mentioned (there are 2) was wet with condensation. one at a time i took 1 out, dried it out with a hair dryer, replaced it and wrapped a sandwich bag around it and secured the ends with twist ties. i've had no problems since.
__________________
Ricky
2012 F150 Super Crew 5-1/2' bed Ecoboost 4x4 3.73 elec. lock diff. Propride hitch
give life. kidney & pancreas transplant 9/9/06
Ingrid-my unofficial '"World's Oldest Streamer" 1909-2008 R.I.P.
richinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 12:31 PM   #7
New Member
 
2012 25' Flying Cloud
McKinney , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by richinny View Post
i had the same problem and found the telephone connector mentioned (there are 2) was wet with condensation. one at a time i took 1 out, dried it out with a hair dryer, replaced it and wrapped a sandwich bag around it and secured the ends with twist ties. i've had no problems since.
Once I take the interior cover off the unit, are the cables difficult to locate or fairly visible?
__________________
CJBrent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 12:38 PM   #8
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
CJ

They've changed the layout a couple of times but in my experience you have to take the thermostat off the wall to get at the connector.

The Dometic CCC thermostat, wiring, and logic boards have as a whole given me no end of trouble. The RJ-11 phone connectors they use are a low-cost connector that performs poorly and are one of several weak points. The next time mine acts up I'm ripping out the whole thing and replacing it with a standard thermostat. The only reason I haven't is the enormous hassle involved in running the wires.
__________________
To learn to see below the surface, you must adjust your altitude
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 01:33 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
Silver Goose's Avatar
 
2008 27' Classic FB
Burkburnett , Texas
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 955
If memory serves me correctly, the other end of the telco type cable from the CCC plugs into the power module board. To access it you need to get on the roof and remove the plastic shroud over the A/C unit (4 screws around the perimeter?). The board is on the curb side of the unit. There may be a sheet metal cover over the board that needs to be removed for access. Disconnect the shore power before poking around in there as there are some exposed 110v connectors in that area. You will see at least 2 of those telco type plugs on that board.
__________________
AIR 47751
Air Safe Hitch, Reese Dual Cam 800#, Centramatics
Silver Goose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 01:43 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
richinny's Avatar
 
2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJBrent View Post
Once I take the interior cover off the unit, are the cables difficult to locate or fairly visible?
once the inside cover was off they were visible in the center area. as mentioned, it is hard to reach in there but doable. i think i held the wire coming down with two fingers and the connector with a needle nose pliers and pushed it up to reconnect them. ifyou can let them dry out a day or two, you might just have to wrap them.

if you're not familiar with the release clips on phone wires, practice with a phone so you can do it without looking.

i might have had two connectors because i have two ac units.
__________________
Ricky
2012 F150 Super Crew 5-1/2' bed Ecoboost 4x4 3.73 elec. lock diff. Propride hitch
give life. kidney & pancreas transplant 9/9/06
Ingrid-my unofficial '"World's Oldest Streamer" 1909-2008 R.I.P.
richinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 01:45 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
richinny's Avatar
 
2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,122
and yes, powering off the trailer for safety is a good idea.
__________________

__________________
Ricky
2012 F150 Super Crew 5-1/2' bed Ecoboost 4x4 3.73 elec. lock diff. Propride hitch
give life. kidney & pancreas transplant 9/9/06
Ingrid-my unofficial '"World's Oldest Streamer" 1909-2008 R.I.P.
richinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.