Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-23-2015, 07:17 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2016 27' Flying Cloud
Georgetown , Texas
Thermostat Question - 2015 Sport

I'm not very technical so here goes it.

On one of our previous Airstreams (2008 International) had a thermostat that operated the air conditioner and the furnace. The thermostat allowed for selection of cool, furnace or heat pump, could set the thermostat for the desired temperature and the air conditioner, or the furnace or the heat pump would turn on and off, on it's own when the desired temperature needed to be reached.

The 2015 Sport thermostat operates only the furnace. The air conditioner/heat pump has to operated utilizing the controls on the air conditioner/heat pump - no connection whatsoever to the thermostat ... and it runs continuously.

1. I'm assuming the climate control technology for the 2015 Sport is referred to "Air Conditioner with Manual Controls"?

2. I'm assuming the climate control for the 2015 Sport could be upgraded to "Air Conditioner with Electronic Controls" by upgrading the thermostat and tying the air conditioner/heat pump into the upgraded thermostat?

Am I correct that we could upgrade to "Electronic Controls" which would allow the temperature to function just as it would on the 2008 International?
Frank&Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 08:07 PM   #2
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

Vintage Kin Owner
Naples , Florida
To convert a manual control Dometic to a digital thermostat, you will need several things in place prior to any consideration of the upgrade. The simplest thermostat is the Single Zone Thermostat (SZT) kit from Dometic. In order for this to function, it needs 12VDC positive and ground AT THE ROOF UNIT. You will also need 3 wires, minimum 16AWG, leading from the roof unit to the thermostat location.