Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2010, 02:21 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
1976 25' Caravanner
North Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 12
Suburban NT-30SP installation tip

Hi everyone! I'm fairly new to the forums but since I've found so much help here, I thought I'd share my latest find.

My husband and I have a 1976 Caravanner and installed a new NT-30SP in it. Much to our dismay, the blower would start but no ignition and it would just shut down.

We found the problem today and above the gas inlet is a limit switch. (#21 in the manual) Ours also has a "Tester 1" sticker near it. My husband is not very happy with "Tester 1" but I digress....

After unscrewing the plate to take it apart, we found one of the electrical connectors was not connected. Be warned, you'll need small hands to do it.

Bring it winter! We've got heat!
__________________

__________________
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 08:07 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Splitrock's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Sioux Falls , South Dakota
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,398
Blog Entries: 20
Pretty good detective work! How'd ya figure that out?

Gary
__________________

__________________
Click on the link to see a picture of the Sioux River falls near my home.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...g?t=1278182564
Eastern South Dakota is very pretty with hills, rivers, and trees.
Splitrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 08:42 PM   #3
Full Timers/Diesel power.
 
Mike Leary's Avatar
 
1983 31' Airstream310
Cactus Hug , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,540
Images: 11
Well done! There's only two things that can be serviced on the Suburban without removing the whole unit; you got one, and yes, it is a bearcat to get at that limit switch.
__________________
"A settled wisdom, plus the itch to be elsewhere"
Mike Leary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 10:11 PM   #4
1 Rivet Member
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
1976 25' Caravanner
North Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 12
You have to have tiny hands to get at that switch! I just made the cutoff. Gary, it was process of elimination and ALOT of luck. We checked our electrical, lp, airflow. Then we worked our way back realizing that the unit wasn't even trying to light the pilot and it was shutting the blower off because there was no gas getting through to light in the first place.

It seems the simple solutions have been the best for our renovation so far and this was no different. Plug it in!
__________________
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 10:15 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
Splitrock's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Sioux Falls , South Dakota
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,398
Blog Entries: 20
I haven't tried to light mine yet. I may be posting for help:-)
__________________
Click on the link to see a picture of the Sioux River falls near my home.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...g?t=1278182564
Eastern South Dakota is very pretty with hills, rivers, and trees.
Splitrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 10:45 PM   #6
Full Timers/Diesel power.
 
Mike Leary's Avatar
 
1983 31' Airstream310
Cactus Hug , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,540
Images: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starscream View Post
Then we worked our way back realizing that the unit wasn't even trying to light the pilot and it was shutting the blower off because there was no gas getting through to light in the first place.
Very strange, your fan shut off? I've had limit switches go out over the years and in my cases, the fan keeps blowing, only cold air!
__________________
"A settled wisdom, plus the itch to be elsewhere"
Mike Leary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 12:37 AM   #7
1 Rivet Member
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
1976 25' Caravanner
North Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 12
The fan would blow cold air for a minute or two and then shut off. The switch itself was fine, it just wasn't plugged in. The bottom connector was unplugged. I'm wondering if maybe it was just loose before we opened it up? That might explain the fan blowing and then cutting off when the connection was lost.
__________________
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 05:01 AM   #8
x
 
XXXX , XXXX
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,601
New furnaces are designed that way. If the burner goes out the fan will run for a while to cool off the combustion chamber and then the fan will shut down. That way the furnace doesn`t become an air conditioner.
__________________

__________________
wasagachris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pix of Suburban NT-30sp replacing NT22 fotochop Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 29 02-24-2012 02:46 PM
A useful tip perhaps Randjg1 Windows & Screens 0 07-11-2010 11:54 PM
Need tip for CEL on 2005 2500 Suburban Davis Tow Vehicles 13 01-28-2009 05:58 AM
New NT-30SP fires 10 sec. then goes out, fan on fotochop Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 3 01-06-2009 08:04 PM
NT-30MA to NT-30SP furnace change '79 Excella 500 SafeHarbor 1978- 1979 Excella 500 17 08-22-2007 09:36 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.