Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2002, 12:57 AM   #1
 
NewStreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 94
Exclamation FURNACE RECALL !!!!!!

I just read in an old (92) AS Caravanner magazine a recall for all Furnaces made from 66 to 77.
Campaign : 77E-012 initiated summer of 77
Campaign : 81E-015 initiated winter 81-82
The furnaces were models NT-17, NT-20, NT-22 and NT-30 manufactured between 66 & 70 The serial numbers were 0064881 and lower.
Also Furnaces made between 1970 & 1977 except those with an "M" suffix, The serial numbers are: 0064881 through 0715865
The recall specifies:" if the model and serial number of yr furnace falls within those noted, have it inspected unless you are VERY SURE the Suburban recall has already been completed on your unit"
The furnaces in question have a rubber-like crossover tube that could crack . Extremely dangerous carbon monoxide would then be expelled into the interior



Ron
__________________

__________________
NewStreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 07:52 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
3Ms75Argosy's Avatar
 
1975 Argosy 26
1963 24' Tradewind
Seattle , Washington
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,341
Images: 7
#'s

Anyone know where the serial numbers are on the furnace? I'll check mine out soon. If my furnace is affected, does anyone know if Suburban would still honor the recall? Do they have a website?
Marc
__________________

__________________
3Ms75Argosy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2002, 09:19 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 74
Images: 2
It is my understanding that Suburban is no longer stocking the repair kit and no longer support the recall of these furnaces. If your furnace has not had the fix and you are concerned about safety, it's recommended that you replace the furnace.
Having said that, I just checked out my furnace on my 72 and it seems to be running fine. I have a CO detector and it t reported no problems and I didn't either. I would like to know where to find the serial number as well to see if this furnace is original, which I suspect it is.
How can one tell if the furnace has had the fix?
__________________
Dave-O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2002, 10:20 AM   #4
2 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 49
furnace recall

I have an NT22 in my 76 safari serial # 0494538 It seems to work fine is there any way to tell if it has had the repair done to it.
I also have a NT30M serial#0769456 that I am keeping for a spare (just in case) I got it out of a motorhome that a friend was gutting . I am assuming that because it has a M (MT30M)
that it is not a recalled furnace. anyone had any experience going from a NT22 to a NT33 will it be too big or too much it looks like it will fit in the space as it is accually smaller in size than the NT22

thanks for any info
paulk
__________________
paul k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 03:10 AM   #5
 
NewStreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 94
I'm glad I discarded mine

Ron
__________________
NewStreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 07:28 AM   #6
Just a member
 
thenewkid64's Avatar
 
1978 28' Argosy 28
Tampa Bay , Florida
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 4,539
Images: 21
Send a message via AIM to thenewkid64 Send a message via Yahoo to thenewkid64 Send a message via Skype™ to thenewkid64
As I understand it the only way to see if your furnace has had the recall preformed is to pull the outer vents. The connection tubes from the outer vents to the furnace were mabe of rubber tubing and the cracking of these was what caused the recall.

Depending on how long your furnace has been installed you may find that getting the outer cover off is alot of work. If there is any way to visually inspect the connections I say do it.

As to putting a NT33 in you are asking for problems. The number on the furnace is the btu output a NT22 puts out 22000 btu's, an NT33 would put out 33000. This is one case where bigger is not necessarly better. By increasing the heat output by a factor of 50% your furnace will not run as long to attain temp. While that seems like a good thing it also means that it will cycle on and of very often. This could also lead to a freezing problem in the holding tanks because it does not run long enought to heat the contents, not to mention the furniture and you. Secondly the whole system is based on air volume, your ductwork will restrict airflow and could cause it to run at a hight temperature than it was designed for. Or because of duct sizes it may not want to work at all.

If you replace your current furnace I suggest that you stay with the size that was engineered into the coach.

Just my $.02 worth
__________________
Brett G
WBCCI #5501 AIR # 49
-------------------------
1978 Argosy 28 foot Motorhome

Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something. -- Plato


thenewkid64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 11:41 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
LOST , Hawaii
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,193
A second to what newkid64 said, if you use a larger size you probably will need to install more ducts to get enough airflow to close the sail switch. That can be a pain in the tight areas these are installed in.

John
__________________
74Argosy24MH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 05:35 PM   #8
2 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 49
Thanks guys for your input
the spare furnace that i have is an NT30M not a NT33M sorry for the misinformation however i am sure that your info still applies my buddy told me i could have any parts that i wanted so i took the furnace (he told me that the blower assembly was brand new)
and from what i can see it is. i also took the a c unit and a new roof top storage pod i never pass up a good freeby the wife hates me for that at least untill she has her anual garage sale when all my so called junk sells before hers lol !!! I guess i will keep the furnace around for parts hopefully i wont need them.wouldent want to have to swap it out anyways as you stated they do squeeze them into some tight corners. Unfortunatly the storage pod just doesnt work on an AS so its garage sale bound i am sure someone with SOB box unit will want it as for the ac unit im not sure if i want to cut a hole in the roof (it is wired for one) so who knows what i will do with it .
well thanks again for the info sorry for babling on .
wishing everyone happy hollidays

Paul
__________________
paul k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2002, 08:14 AM   #9
2 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 74
Images: 2
I have an NT-16 from 1977 that I took apart to get the motor out so that the commutator on the motor could be repaired along with installing new brushes (most auto electric shops will do this for about $30). The rubber tube on my furnace was cracked too. It connects the fresh air intake just below the air intake fan to the combustion chamber. I replaced it with radiator hose. I justified this by inspecting the contact points of the hose, and could see they did not get that hot with the fresh air moving through them. Also I believe that the modern hose is better than that old rubber. I am using the furnace this winter while making other repairs, and always use a CO detector.

Jim
__________________
barbwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2002, 02:42 AM   #10
 
NewStreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 94
I hope everybody checked their furnace
__________________
NewStreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2002, 02:09 AM   #11
2 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 74
Images: 2
Cracks in the reefer vent produced more CO than any other appliance. Check near the top, I had to tear some stuff apart to get to the bad spots. I'm not talking about leathal amounts, just what registers on my Blackhawk.
__________________
barbwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2003, 04:31 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
Chas's Avatar
 
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 949
Images: 22
detectors!

I have said it before and will say it again. Another good reason to add a 12v hardwired carbon monoxide detector and while you're at it put in a LP detector. They even have LP detectors that will shut down your propane supply if aleak is detected. You can even go the cheap route and do a battery powered monoxide unit from the hardware store. You should already have a smoke detector.

Why sit around and worry about it, just do it!

Chas
__________________
Chas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2003, 05:33 PM   #13
Just a member
 
thenewkid64's Avatar
 
1978 28' Argosy 28
Tampa Bay , Florida
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 4,539
Images: 21
Send a message via AIM to thenewkid64 Send a message via Yahoo to thenewkid64 Send a message via Skype™ to thenewkid64
The rubber tube issue is for a range of models. The fact that you cannot see the tubes may not mean it has been repaired, it may mean that he furnace you have was not subject to the recall.
__________________
Brett G
WBCCI #5501 AIR # 49
-------------------------
1978 Argosy 28 foot Motorhome

Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something. -- Plato


thenewkid64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2003, 12:40 AM   #14
qqq
4 Rivet Member
 
qqq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 403
Images: 4
Good season to revive this post


Hart
__________________

__________________
qqq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R & R a Suburban Furnace Janets Husband Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 3 06-24-2004 08:19 PM
Suburban Furnace tmeagle1 Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 25 02-20-2004 08:18 AM
Suburban Furnace Replacement Craig Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 3 10-31-2003 02:53 PM
Suburban Furnace instructions overlander63 Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 7 08-03-2003 10:26 PM
Need Suburban Furnace Cover For 79/31' Soverign montanaandy Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 0 07-29-2002 11:54 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.