Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-04-2016, 01:34 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1977 31' Sovereign
Indianapolis , Indiana
Suburban Furnace problem

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAirstream Forums1459798080.870722.jpg
Views:	151
Size:	80.4 KB
ID:	260021

I've used this furnace all winter without a problem. On a recent trip, it stopped working.

The blower starts, but never clicks on. The blown-air is cold. It runs for about 5 seconds and shuts off.

It's getting plenty of 12v power. LP tanks are full and the connections look fine.

What's my next step?

How do I diagnose?

Thanks,
Jason

Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
jasonsherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 07:39 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

1976 Argosy 26
diamond bar , California
I'm no expert. But while searching for my own furnace issues, I gained some knowledge.

Check the sail switch. Maybe check with a meter or temporarily bypass the switch to see is burner will ignite.
909kenu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 07:45 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2005 30' Classic
Burlington , Ontario
I believe if you do a google search, you should be able to find specific trouble shooting charts that could help.

Many times appliance problems I have had have been resolved just by pulling and replacing all connectors - ie just corroded connectors.

Brian.

2005 Classic 30'
Hensley Arrow / Centramatics
2008 GMC Sierra SLT 2500HD,4x4,Crew Cab, Diesel, Leer cap.
Wingeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 11:18 AM   #4
2 Rivet Member

1977 31' Sovereign
Indianapolis , Indiana
Here's an update:

The furnace is a Suburban NT-40 from 2001.

The sail-switch looks like it is working and all the wires appear to be OK.

My next step is to check the gas supply. I'm replacing the 20+ year old regulator and some gas lines. I'll keep posting updates.

Thanks,
Jason