Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2009, 01:56 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
2011 25' FB Flying Cloud
Anywhere & , Everywhere
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,090
Propane Furnace Problem

The propane furnace in my trailer works just fine.

As long as you leave the front cover completely off.

If the cover is put on the furnace it will run OK but when it shuts down it trips the furnace breaker. Does it every time I've tried it. To get the furnace to come back on the breaker has to be reset. Breaker I'm talking about is the one on the furnace.

Only thing I can think of is that heat is building up while the cover is on and this is causing the breaker to trip. The cover gets very hot - but then it is covering a furnace.

Any ideas or suggestions - beyond just leaving the cover off that is? Unit is still under warranty so if/when I get back to JC I'll get it taken care of there - maybe. Reason I say maybe is I've had a "Whooping" noise that my A/C makes "fixed" twice so far and it still makes the noise.
__________________

__________________
Al - K4GLU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 01:59 PM   #2
The Hawk's Lair
 
cooperhawk's Avatar
 
1985 34.5' Airstream 345
BACK WOODS , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 922
Images: 9
First off the cover should not get that hot. Check to see if there is some sort of impediment in the furnace itself that prevents the furnace from distributing the hot air efficiently.
__________________

__________________
AKA THE GUNNER
There is no "I" in the word "team," but there are four in "Platitude Quoting Idiot!"

AIRSTREAM 345 TURBO-DIESEL
VFW, LEGION, NRA


cooperhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 02:08 PM   #3
_
 
. , .
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,812
basic brain storming, u may have considered these ideas already...

?does it happen at ALL heat settings?

for example IF the furnace is set at the lowest temp that triggers it to run does this happen?

and at the HIGHEST heat setting does it still NOT trip the breaker until shutting down?

i would expect variations IF heat is the issue.
____________

is the cover on CORRECTLY, as in mesh over blower area?
____________

any obstructions on the outside or INSIDE?

for example debris near the fresh air side or near the box?

do ALL of the internal vents flow well?

dig around for in/out obstructions on the box or opening CUT too small.
____________

could be a loose wire at the fan, that rattles more after warmed and only at shut down.
____________

have u checked the voltage TO the furnace?
____________

as reference the outside cover on mine gets warm, but not blazing hot.

cheers
2air'
__________________
all of the true things that i am about to tell you are shameless lies. l.b.j.

we are here on earth to fart around. don't let anybody tell you any different. k.v.
2airishuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 02:54 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
RickDavis's Avatar

 
1961 24' Tradewind
1969 29' Ambassador
1970 21' Globetrotter
Jamestown , Tennessee
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,781
I would look for something obstructing airflow through the ducts.

Most furnaces have a thermodisk to shut them off if the bonnet (case) temp gets too high
__________________
Rick Davis 1602 K8DOC
61 tradewind, plus a few others
13 Ram 2500 TD
99 Dodge TD 577K miles

RickDavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 02:59 PM   #5
Full Timers/Diesel power.
 
Mike Leary's Avatar
 
1983 31' Airstream310
Cactus Hug , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,540
Images: 11
Are the "thermodisk", "high limit switch" and "sail switch" all the same?
__________________
"A settled wisdom, plus the itch to be elsewhere"
Mike Leary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 03:25 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
garry's Avatar
 
1969 31' Sovereign
Broken Arrow , Oklahoma
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,362
Images: 7
Mike,
No they are not the same.

I think you need to verify good airflow at every outlet sounds like one or more is blocked or partiality blocked.
__________________
Garry
garry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 03:58 PM   #7
Full Timers/Diesel power.
 
Mike Leary's Avatar
 
1983 31' Airstream310
Cactus Hug , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,540
Images: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by garry View Post
Mike,
No they are not the same.

I think you need to verify good airflow at every outlet sounds like one or more is blocked or partiality blocked.
So does my Suburban NT-30 (2001) just have a limit switch, which was replaced last year? As was the card in 2005, gas valve in 2006, fan motor in 2008, electrode just now. Yes, we will check the outlets, thanks.
__________________
"A settled wisdom, plus the itch to be elsewhere"
Mike Leary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 04:16 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
RickDavis's Avatar

 
1961 24' Tradewind
1969 29' Ambassador
1970 21' Globetrotter
Jamestown , Tennessee
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Leary View Post
Are the "thermodisk", "high limit switch" and "sail switch" all the same?
The thermodisk I was reffering to would be the High Limit in this case
__________________
Rick Davis 1602 K8DOC
61 tradewind, plus a few others
13 Ram 2500 TD
99 Dodge TD 577K miles

RickDavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 04:18 PM   #9
Full Timers/Diesel power.
 
Mike Leary's Avatar
 
1983 31' Airstream310
Cactus Hug , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,540
Images: 11
Sorry to screw-up this thread, it was a funny coincidence my furnace went out today.: Maybe the Mods can put my problem in another thread (after they recover from the holidays and the WBCCI thread) Thanks, Rick, being "Sailors Of The Asphalt Sea", do we have a "sail switch"?
__________________
"A settled wisdom, plus the itch to be elsewhere"
Mike Leary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 04:57 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
RickDavis's Avatar

 
1961 24' Tradewind
1969 29' Ambassador
1970 21' Globetrotter
Jamestown , Tennessee
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,781
The sail switch is usually a vane attached to a microswitch that senses the air movement from the fan, even on the asphalt sea
__________________
Rick Davis 1602 K8DOC
61 tradewind, plus a few others
13 Ram 2500 TD
99 Dodge TD 577K miles

RickDavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 05:13 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
2011 25' FB Flying Cloud
Anywhere & , Everywhere
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,090
Thanks for the suggestions. Forgot to mention this earlier but there appears to be a duct that runs up to the front bedroom area of the trailer. To make a long story short no heat ever comes out of that duct. So guess that may be the problem - a blockage somewhere.

Think I'll leave it for Airstream to fix. Never run it at night - I use a Pelonis Disc Furnace at night to keep the chill off and turn the furnace on when I get up since this trailer is a bit too big for the electric heater to keep warm. And during the day when it warms up a bit I use the heat pump.
__________________
Al - K4GLU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 09:03 AM   #12
The Hawk's Lair
 
cooperhawk's Avatar
 
1985 34.5' Airstream 345
BACK WOODS , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 922
Images: 9
By all means get Airstream to fix it. You may void the warranty messing with it yourself.

Sure hope you're someplace warm right now.
__________________
AKA THE GUNNER
There is no "I" in the word "team," but there are four in "Platitude Quoting Idiot!"

AIRSTREAM 345 TURBO-DIESEL
VFW, LEGION, NRA


cooperhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 09:11 AM   #13
Full Timers/Diesel power.
 
Mike Leary's Avatar
 
1983 31' Airstream310
Cactus Hug , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,540
Images: 11
Does AS still use Suburban furnaces?
__________________
"A settled wisdom, plus the itch to be elsewhere"
Mike Leary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 10:47 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
2011 25' FB Flying Cloud
Anywhere & , Everywhere
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,090
Furnace in mine is Atwood.

cooperhawk - warm? Is 20 warm? Thar's what it was when I got up this morning in Rockhound SP SE of Deming, NM. My Pelonis keeps it warm enough at night and the furnace works fine as long as I leave the cover off.
__________________

__________________
Al - K4GLU is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Propane smell at furnace exhaust Gene LP Gas, Piping, Tanks & Regulators 8 03-23-2008 06:09 PM
Furnace - propane smell LI Pets Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 13 03-11-2008 03:07 PM
Furnace Problem Hexhead Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 2 10-07-2006 07:49 PM
Furnace problem ddsouth Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 11 01-12-2006 06:19 PM
Modification to Furnace Propane Line winner LP Gas, Piping, Tanks & Regulators 6 06-29-2002 04:54 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.