Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2009, 07:26 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
wille's Avatar
 
2003 25' Classic
Sarasota , Florida
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to wille Send a message via Yahoo to wille
Question Plug in at house to use AC

We live in Flordia and have recently purchased a 25' AS Classic. In the summer, it is always over 90 degrees during the day and we would like to plug the trailer in at our house to load and unload the trailer in to have AC comfort. When we tried to plug it into a regular outlet, it tripped the circuit. Can we plug it into the dryer electrical outlet (30 amp) or should we consider a generator?
__________________

__________________
wille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 07:51 AM   #2
More than one rivet loose
 
thecatsandi's Avatar

 
Currently Looking...
Keymar , Maryland
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by wille View Post
We live in Flordia and have recently purchased a 25' AS Classic. In the summer, it is always over 90 degrees during the day and we would like to plug the trailer in at our house to load and unload the trailer in to have AC comfort. When we tried to plug it into a regular outlet, it tripped the circuit. Can we plug it into the dryer electrical outlet (30 amp) or should we consider a generator?
This has been discussed several times.
The short answer is NO. a Dryer is 220/240 VAC this will fry everything in you trailer. The RV plug should not fit in the dryer outlet. Your trailer is 110/120 VAC. If you have a 20A circuit use it. The AC alone should not trip the breaker.
The best answer to this question is to install a dedicated 30 RV connection.
__________________

__________________
Michelle TAC MT-0
Sarah, Snowball

Looking for a 1962 Flying Cloud

thecatsandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 08:41 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,813
Images: 12
Best advise is don't do it until you get a 30 amp line installed.

If you do try and run the AC on a house outlet make sure you are using at least a #12 extension core, and the shorter the better. Make sure the refrigerator is off or on gas and turn the converter off. Both of these will attempt to come on as soon as they see 110 volts and will draw enough current to trip the house breaker when the AC comes on.

If your house is old enough to have aluminum wiring I would not attempt it or make sure someone is at the fire house.
__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 12:00 PM   #4
RLS
Rivet Master
 
RLS's Avatar

 
2004 25' Classic
Prescott , Arizona
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 608
I just finished up installing a 30 amp RV box on the outside wall of the garage. If you are a handy man at all, there is nothing to it. You need the 30 amp breaker that goes inside your main panel , either 8 ga. or 10 ga. (I used 8 ga. since the distance to outside RV box was around 60') wire, conduit for outside wire going to RV box, and the RV 30 amp box. Total cost was around $140. Half of that was for the 8 ga. wire. I had to buy the 125' roll, by the foot would of been more for the 60'! PLEASE make sure if doing this to have the main breaker turned off before doing anything

Bob
__________________
RLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 02:06 PM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
2008 16' Safari
Destrehan , Louisiana
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 395
I just plug mine into a heavy duty extension cord. This limits you to only 15 amps of power. You can run the AC, but nothing else. If you turn off the AC, you can use all the other items in your trailer. This is fine for cleaning up or testing things.
Note: If you have a microwave this will use as much power as the AC.
If you want real full time power in the trailer you need to get a 30 amp outlet installed.
__________________
dlb435 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 01:51 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
ROBERTSUNRUS's Avatar

 
2005 25' Safari
Salem , Oregon
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7,269
Images: 18
Blog Entries: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlb435 View Post
I just plug mine into a heavy duty extension cord. This limits you to only 15 amps of power. You can run the AC, but nothing else. If you turn off the AC, you can use all the other items in your trailer. This is fine for cleaning up or testing things.
Note: If you have a microwave this will use as much power as the AC.
If you want real full time power in the trailer you need to get a 30 amp outlet installed.
Hi, this is the best answer to your question, plain and simple.
__________________
Bob

2005 Safari 25-B
"Le Petit Chateau Argent"
[ Small Silver Castle ]
2000 Navigator / 2014 F-150 Eco-Boost / Equal-i-zer / P-3
YAMAHA 2400 / AIR #12144
ROBERTSUNRUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 11:20 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
TBRich's Avatar

 
2006 19' Safari SE
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,483
Images: 64
We had a 30 amp box installed in our "Bambi Port" and it's one of the best investments we've made. It's great to have full power hookup at home, especially when getting ready for a trip or cleaning up after one...also is fun to just go out and use the trailer to watch a movie sometimes or take a nap or even "camp out"...you know, if you are itching to go camping, but can't really get away... And when it's really hot out (like now...109 today) we keep the AC set about 89 so that it doesn't get too hot inside the trailer. Couldn't do this without a 30 amp set-up.
__________________
TB & Greg and Abbey Schnauzer
AirForums #21900 . Membership Chair, 4C
Unit #3954
Travel Log: AZBambi...On the Road Again
TBRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 11:31 PM   #8
Moderator
 
moosetags's Avatar

 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10,763
Images: 5
Welcome from the Florida Panhandle

Welcome to the Forums. We're glad to have you with us.

We have a 30 amp dedicated service in our garage to keep Lucy plugged in while at the house.

We also have a beach rental house across the street. We have plugged Lucy in there on several occasions. We plugged into a 20 amp circuit in the garage. this circuit was not running anything else, and it was able to handle the AC. We ran the refrigerator separately on another 15 amp circuit on the porch by plugging the refer in with an extension cord from the outside refer box on the Airstream.

Brian
__________________
SuEllyn & Brian McCabe
WBCCI #3628 -- AIR #14872 -- TAC #FL-7
2015 FC 25' FB (Lucy) with HAHA
2005 Suburban 2500 Quadrasteer (Olivia) & 2018 Silverado 2500 (Lillian)
moosetags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 04:40 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
ZoominC6's Avatar
 
2004 30' Classic Slideout
Colleyville , Texas
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,502
Unless you're a pro, call a professional electrician and do it right the first time with an RV 30amp outlet. It'll save ya money in the long run. You'll love the convenience of it all. Just my two cents worth .
__________________
In dog years, I'm dead!
ZoominC6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 04:39 PM   #10
1 Rivet Member
 
wille's Avatar
 
2003 25' Classic
Sarasota , Florida
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to wille Send a message via Yahoo to wille
Can you give me an idea of the cost to have an electrician install the 30 amp outlet?
__________________
wille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 05:05 PM   #11
4 Rivet Member
 
jimmickle's Avatar
 
2000 31' Land Yacht
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 497
If you have an electrician do it, be sure he understands that it 120 volts! There have been cases of electricians wiring it for 220 volts, which will blow everything in the RV.

Cost will be dependent on the location of the house breaker box and where you want the outlet
__________________
jimmickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 08:36 PM   #12
3 Rivet Member
 
SSChanger's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Louisville , United States
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 127
Blog Entries: 4
We installed a 30 amp box just below the breaker panel in our garage, which makes it a piece-of-cake to plug Twinkle in after camping. Our neighbor is an electrician and did it in about 10 minutes for free--the total cost was about $75, and it's been worth it!
__________________
SSChanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 12:32 AM   #13
Rivet Master
 
TBRich's Avatar

 
2006 19' Safari SE
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,483
Images: 64
We went this info to Willie privately, but thought we'd post is here, too, for what it's worth:

I looked back at the paperwork for installation of our 30 amp service... This was in March of 2005...it was $203...that was $64 for the materials (conduit, wiring, box, etc + tax) and 2 hours of labor for two electricians at $65/hr ($130) ... Our main electrical box is very close to where we store our Bambi...about 15 feet, so it was not a long distance for the new circuit to be run... We have never regretted it.

Good luck!
Terry
__________________

__________________
TB & Greg and Abbey Schnauzer
AirForums #21900 . Membership Chair, 4C
Unit #3954
Travel Log: AZBambi...On the Road Again
TBRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A mouse in the house pittsf Off Topic Forum 12 08-21-2007 03:28 PM
Guest house for now. downsize Member Introductions 3 06-26-2007 08:49 AM
house batteries wb13798 Mechanics Corner - Engines, Transmission & More... 16 02-07-2006 08:41 PM
Trailer plug - Adapter or New Plug?? Jason1101 Brakes & Brake Controllers 4 01-23-2003 06:24 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.