Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2017, 01:59 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
urnmor's Avatar
 
2012 25' Flying Cloud
Berlin , Maryland
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,215
New Dometic AC not working

Our new Dometic AC is not blowing cold air. The fan works but unable to tell if the condenser is working. The unit has only been used once before in June and it worked fine. any advice is greatly appreciated
__________________

__________________
urnmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 02:13 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
rodsterinfl's Avatar

 
2006 25' Safari
Fort Myers , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,402
Images: 8
when you turn it on, listen for two distinct startup sounds- the fan (easy to tell sound) and compressor sound (might be heard easier outside). The fan is first usually.
__________________

__________________
WBCCI 8653
2017 Ford F-150 3.5 Ecobeast Gen 2 3.55 Platinum
rodsterinfl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 02:42 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
urnmor's Avatar
 
2012 25' Flying Cloud
Berlin , Maryland
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,215
I believe the compressor is working but not completely sure. If the compressor is working do you have any suggestions. If it is not do you have any recommendations to troubleshootThanks
__________________
urnmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 02:44 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
rodsterinfl's Avatar

 
2006 25' Safari
Fort Myers , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,402
Images: 8
How long have you let it run? Is the thermostat on cool and a low temp? The fan is a blowing sound and the compressor is a purring sound. Usually the compressor is heard outside with blow sound. Sometimes it takes a while for the air to start cooling. Are you running it on the 30amp power?
__________________
WBCCI 8653
2017 Ford F-150 3.5 Ecobeast Gen 2 3.55 Platinum
rodsterinfl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 02:47 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 6,184
Using a digital meat thermometer, with a small metal end, test the air temp at the A/C intake, and also at the discharge. You should see a Delta temp drop of about 20 degrees F. As/if the trailer starts to cool down, the discharge air should also get colder, maintaining the same 20F Delta. Quantifying the temps will help with the diagnosis IMO.

Most hardware stores sell these thermometers for about $15 to $20. Taylor makes one. Similar to the ones used by HVAC contractors.

I would also do a hard reboot of your stat, which the manual for you new AC should describe. This may be a thermostat problem IMO.

"Dometic Stat reboot" search results:

https://www.google.com/search?q=dome...=airforums.com

Is the dealer/contractor who installed the new A/C nearby? Still under warranty? Back in June, did you run the new A/C for a while, and it worked OK? In other words, did your old stat recognize the new A/C? Do you recall if the installer had to do a hard reboot of the stat at the time?

If you have used the heat since June, did the furnace work OK (indicating that the stat was functioning correctly)?

Good luck!

Peter
__________________
OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 03:33 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
urnmor's Avatar
 
2012 25' Flying Cloud
Berlin , Maryland
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,215
The temp coming from the AC is 84 degrees the same as the outdoors in fact outside is a few degrees cooler. Also I tried the heat pump and set it at 88 and it did not come on. The AC worked fine in June.
One more thing my surge protector turn green but when I connected the electrical code it stayed green but the red light blink
__________________
urnmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 08:22 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 6,184
Did you try the hard re-boot of the thermostat, as mentioned in my earlier comment?

Tomorrow is the start of the business week. Probably a good idea to call as many people as you can, if the unit is under warranty. Also Dometic's toll-free number.

You will have to check the surge protector's manual to figure out the colors/blinks/codes. If you post the mfg. and model number, someone here may be able to help on this.

Good luck!

Peter
__________________
OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 11:05 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
wulfraat's Avatar

 
2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 783
Images: 1
New Dometic AC not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by urnmor View Post
Our new Dometic AC is not blowing cold air. The fan works but unable to tell if the condenser is working. The unit has only been used once before in June and it worked fine. any advice is greatly appreciated


For what it is worth the new 15k dometic AC on my 2017 30' lasted 6 service days and then died (stopped producing cold air). It lost its freon and was replaced under warrantee.

- There were no errors on the control center
- The fan would come in and the compressor would kick in - so everything 'appeared' to be 'working'
- With an ammeter I verified that the compressor was only drawing 8amps vs 12-13 - which indicated reduced load in the cooling system - i.e. refrigerant leak!
- Obviously no cold air was produced and no warm air was produced when in heat pump mode
- no condensation water was present in the wheel well drain

Tech verified what I knew was the issue - freon leak.

Replaced with a new unit and we were back in action.
__________________
wulfraat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 04:29 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 6,184
Good call -- voting for a freon leak too. Seems to me other threads have reported similar in new-ish units:

https://www.google.com/search?q=freo...=airforums.com

Good luck!
__________________
OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 08:15 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
urnmor's Avatar
 
2012 25' Flying Cloud
Berlin , Maryland
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,215
My thanks to all of you for your responses. Unfortunately it is still not working. I have done a reset and that did not work. I do not believe the condenser is working as the heat pump also does not work. So I am wondering if the connection is loose at the unit. I checked the connection at the thermostat and it was fine. I am not sure how to check it at the unit. Any suggestions on to to check it is greatly appreciated. If it is not the connection then it is either the Freon or a bad unit. I have a call to Colonial as it should still be under warranty
__________________
urnmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 08:23 AM   #11
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 6,184
Thanks for the update, please let us know how it all plays out.

Thanks,

Peter
__________________
OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 08:33 AM   #12
Rivet Master
 
wulfraat's Avatar

 
2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 783
Images: 1
Your next steps in troubleshooting is to get up on the roof. Remove the plastic AC shroud/cover there are four screws holding it down. Inspect the pan for an oily substance which would be indicative of a Freon leak.

You will not always see an oily substance if there is a leak.

The next thing to do while you are on the roof use a small ammeter and put the clamp around the Black wire going to the compressor motor. Go back down into the unit then turn on the AC and then go back up onto the roof. Measure how many amps the compressor is drawing. If it's anything less than 12 then again you likely have lost your Freon.
__________________
wulfraat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 10:36 AM   #13
Rivet Master
 
urnmor's Avatar
 
2012 25' Flying Cloud
Berlin , Maryland
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,215
fortunately it is still under warranty so I spoke to Tony at Colonial and they will look at it on Wednesday
__________________
urnmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 10:43 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
wulfraat's Avatar

 
2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 783
Images: 1
New Dometic AC not working

There you go. Have someone else climb on the roof and figure it out

Glad they could get you in so quickly
__________________

__________________
wulfraat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Dometic Penguin II 15k not working wulfraat General Repair Forum 17 07-07-2017 06:25 PM
Brand new dometic fridge not working Greg1410 Refrigerators 2 06-18-2017 04:31 PM
Electic Jack not working - fuse good - manual not working ryandanz Jacks, Stabilizers, Lifting and Leveling 20 04-24-2016 11:04 AM
Front interior light not working, middle and rear working? jonnyo Lights - Interior & Exterior 4 04-03-2016 10:16 PM
Dometic heater zone 2 not working on furnace, not hot on HP sfgirl General Repair Forum 13 11-06-2015 02:21 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.