Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2019, 10:07 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
2007 30' Classic
Anahuac , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 31
Lite furnace

Ok yíall
Stuck in sub freezing temperatures tonight and tomorrow night. This is our first time in these conditions so is the furnace supposed to kick in automatically as I canít find a furnace setting on my thermostat. Please explain it to me like I was twelve years old. Running HP now but it keeps going into defrost mode and Iím worried that might be a problem. Also itís my understanding that the furnace will force warm air to the plumbing under the floor.
Thanks Steve
__________________

shb2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 10:21 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
2012 Avenue Coach
Corpus Christi , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1,192
Brrrrrr! Better get that furnace going.

There has to be thermostat somewhere for the heater. In my 2012 class b, it is combined into the a/c wall thermostat. But you need someone with knowledge of your trailer to chime in.

In the meantime, make sure your propane is "on" and run a stove burner to make sure and bleed any air from the line. This will help your furnace start once you find the controls.

Good luck.
__________________

rowiebowie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 10:23 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
SteveSueMac's Avatar

 
2012 27' Flying Cloud
W , New England
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,168
Not sure if ours is the same - your profile says you have a 2007, mineís a 2012.

The thermostat in mine has several settings. HP is heat pump and thatís only good above 40*. Another setting is FURN for the propane fueled furnace. Thatís what youíre looking for. What options do you get from selector buttons on your thermostat? If not set to furnace, it wonít ever kick in.

If FURN is an option, select that, then select the temp you want in the trailer - 55 could be sufficient - whatever works for you. But get it off HP (heat pump).

Good luck!
SteveSueMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 10:24 PM   #4
4 Rivet Member
 
fran&frank's Avatar
 
2016 27' Flying Cloud
Hartsburg , Missouri
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 308
You need to use the mode button on your thermostat to cycle through the options till FURN shows up. If you have two air conditiioners you have two zones and the furnace will only show up on one of the zones, so if you don't see it on one zone, change to the other zone.
__________________
Frank & Fran
2016 27' FC FB with 400 W solar
2016 Ford F150 EcoBoost
Equalizer Hitch
fran&frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 10:28 PM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
2007 27' Safari FB SE
Forest Grove , Oregon
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 451
Push the "mode" button, I hope I have it right until you see heat or something like that. Auto or Automatic is not good, fan is not good, Heat pump is not good.
And be a bit patient after you think you find the setting you want. It can tak 3-5 minutes for the furnace to kick on as the electronics are trying to catch up with what you want it to do.
I have the same year as you, just not a classic and have learned that response to what I push on the thermostat takes several minutes to create any kind of change in what the heating/ac system is doing.
Best of luck to you....
bweybright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 10:30 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
SteveSueMac's Avatar

 
2012 27' Flying Cloud
W , New England
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,168
Not sure if ours is the same - your profile says you have a 2007, mineís a 2012.

The thermostat in mine has several settings. HP is heat pump and thatís only good above 40*. Another setting is FURN for the propane fueled furnace. Thatís what youíre looking for. What options do you get from selector buttons on your thermostat? If not set to furnace, it wonít ever kick in.

If FURN is an option, select that, then select the temp you want in the trailer - 55 could be sufficient - whatever works for you. But get it off HP (heat pump).

Good luck!
SteveSueMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 11:05 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
waninae39's Avatar

 
2017 22' Sport
NCR , Ontario
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,661
its getting cold here
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	its getting cold.JPG
Views:	5
Size:	23.2 KB
ID:	356086  
waninae39 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 10:20 AM   #8
2 Rivet Member
 
2007 30' Classic
Anahuac , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 31
Thanks all
My thermostat doesnít have a furnace setting it switches automatically while in auto mode. That being said I fear I donít have any power going to the board as I see no lights when I check. I have checked the 12V distribution panel and canít tell anything there and the owners manual is no help. Anyone know where the power comes from.
Thanks again Steve
shb2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 10:39 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
richw46's Avatar
 
2006 23' Safari SE
Lexington , Kentucky
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,517
Images: 6
Have you tried raising the thermostat to a really high setting, like 85? In auto I would think it would bypass the HP and kick in the furnace. My 2006 has HP and (I think) Heat or Furnace. Still, with the highest thermostat setting it should start up the furnace.
__________________
-Rich

Rich & Yvonne
2006 Safari SE -Dora-
2004 4Runner SE

richw46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 11:45 PM   #10
2 Rivet Member
 
2007 30' Classic
Anahuac , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 31
Thanks Rich
Tried that with no luck. Weíre back home now and temps are not freezing. Iím gonna take the board and have it checked tomorrow. I will keep everyone updated. But any other suggestions are welcome.
Thanks again
shb2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 06:41 AM   #11
Slide Out Society #001
 
GCinSC2's Avatar
 
2007 30' Classic S/O
Somewhere , South Carolina
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3,147
I've got an 07 Classic and the mode button is used to select function. My t-stat is a Dometic Duo Therm.

Any chance you can post make and model of t-stat of in the giant pile of manuals do you have the manual for the t-stat.

Has the gas furnace ever worked? does it try to start up blower fan runs and then does not fire?
__________________
S/OS #001
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 5.9L 6 Speed
16" Michelins, Hi Spec Wheels, Max Brake, Carslile Actuator, Equal-i-zer, Dill TPMS. Campfire cook.
GCinSC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 09:32 AM   #12
2 Rivet Member
 
2007 30' Classic
Anahuac , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 31
Thermostat

Thanks GCinSC2
I will check and see if I have a manual for the thermostat, just assumed it would be with the furnace manual. We live Southeast of Houston so have not had need of the furnace much, but yes it worked last year. And no it dose not try to start I canít see any lights on the board so Iím thinking thereís no power to the board.
Thanks again
shb2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 10:04 AM   #13
Rivet Master
 
Foiled Again's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6,791
The furnace FAN plugs in to.an ordinary outlet in most models. If the fan is not functional, I think the furnace won't come on. Open the outside furnace door and see if the plug has come loose. Not entirely likely, but an EASY fix. Also check the blade fuses in your converter. Even of they look good they can be.blown. Swap the furnace fuse with another just to test. Having a box o' spares is cheap and handy for the tow vehicle also.
__________________
Today is a gift, that's why they call it the present.
Foiled Again is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 06:35 PM   #14
2 Rivet Member
 
2007 30' Classic
Anahuac , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 31
Success Y’all
Finally found the answer in an old forum. Problem no furnace setting on the thermostat, A/C unit was replaced in 2017 evidently whoever replaced it didn’t figure we would need a furnace setting in Texas so they didn’t turn the dip switch on for the furnace, found that out when I climbed on the roof and pulled the cover off turned on the dip switch. Everything is good now. Thanks for all the support. Until next time.
Happy Trails
shb2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 06:15 AM   #15
Slide Out Society #001
 
GCinSC2's Avatar
 
2007 30' Classic S/O
Somewhere , South Carolina
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3,147
I sure didn't see that coming, glad you got it figured out.
__________________
S/OS #001
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 5.9L 6 Speed
16" Michelins, Hi Spec Wheels, Max Brake, Carslile Actuator, Equal-i-zer, Dill TPMS. Campfire cook.
GCinSC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 10:25 AM   #16
2 Rivet Member
 
2007 30' Classic
Anahuac , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 31
GCinSC2
You and me both. Like I said before I could have sworn it worked last year. But evidently I was wrong unless it would work in the auto mode without that dip switch on, which I kinda doubt, just glad I found that before I tore the whole thing apart.
Thanks again��
shb2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 10:34 AM   #17
Rivet Master
 
richw46's Avatar
 
2006 23' Safari SE
Lexington , Kentucky
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,517
Images: 6
Nice going and glad to see someone as persistent as me. I've been able to resolve several problems with my cars using Google searches and never giving up. It's great that you were able to solve it so easily.

My experience with mechanical anything is, the sooner you find the problem, the harder it's going to be to fix (and more costly). If it takes a long time to find it, a flick of a switch (or some duct tape) will fix it.
__________________
-Rich

Rich & Yvonne
2006 Safari SE -Dora-
2004 4Runner SE

richw46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 09:38 PM   #18
2 Rivet Member
 
2007 30' Classic
Anahuac , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 31
The secret

Richw46
The secret is to take your time and stay calm.
😎😎😎
__________________

shb2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace won't lite perryg114 Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 16 11-10-2011 06:31 AM
Patio lite...changing bulb. crazylev 2002 - 2005 International 5 07-18-2004 08:36 PM
Thin Lite Install Pick Lights - Interior & Exterior 8 07-27-2003 12:45 PM
Broken Lite Shade Fix wagsrp General Interior Topics 1 10-13-2002 10:11 AM
Bath lites a new type of lite FrankR Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 2 03-16-2002 09:38 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.