Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-22-2004, 09:02 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1973 31' Sovereign
Portland , Oregon
Question Hot water radiant heat?

I am having to do a pretty extensive rebuild of my 1973 31' Sovereign. This will include rebuilding almost the entire interior (gutted by the PO). It will also require replacing the water heater and heater. I have some knowledge of and direct experience with hot water radiant heat. I know that it is possible to design a system that uses the water heater as the source of hot water. I have also been giving some thought to buying a continuous flow hot water heater. Most typical hot water radiant heating systems are installed in the floor. While I think that could be done with an AS it occurred to me that maybe the ceiling would be a better candidate. The whole inner skin is, after all, made out of aluminum which should make a tremedous radiating surface if I can just heat it up a bit. Modern radiant heating systems typically use a special variety of plastic tubing that should be very forgiving relative to vibration as the trailer moves. I think all I would have to do is to find a way to lay loops of tubing down the center panel of the ceiling in such a way as to get really good heat transfer from the hot water, through the wall of the tubing to the aluminum inner skin. The aluminum should be able to spread the head out and radiate it into the interior.

As an optional alternative it should also be possible to install some sort of wall mounted radiators here and there that would be heated with hot water. There are some nice units, for example, that double as a heated towel rack that might work nicely.

I would appreciate any thoughts on the topic, especially from anyone that has done anything along these lines.

Thanks,

Malcolm
malconium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2004, 06:14 AM   #2
Rivet Master