Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-19-2008, 08:08 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1986 25' Sovereign
Wichita Falls , Texas
Hot Water heater trouble

Hi, I am new at this, so I hope this is not something stupid. I just bought an 86 Sovereign, and I cannot get the hot water to work. The man I bought it from said it was an automatic pilot, but noting seems to work. Ideas or advice?
frscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 09:15 PM   #2
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

Vintage Kin Owner
Naples , Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by frscott View Post
Hi, I am new at this, so I hope this is not something stupid. I just bought an 86 Sovereign, and I cannot get the hot water to work. The man I bought it from said it was an automatic pilot, but noting seems to work. Ideas or advice?
If you open the outside door to the 'WATER HEATER' (it doesn't heat hot water.....) you'll see a label and model #. Post it and let's see what we can find out.

And BTW............WELCOME to the Forums!!!
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 10:41 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1973 23' Safari
1977 23' Safari
2018 25' Flying Cloud
Palmer Lake , Colorado
Send a message via Skype™ to Zeppelinium
Checklist:

1. Propane is on
2. Water Heater cutoff valve (under the belly) is open
3. Water in the water heater tank (don't know it this has any effect)
4. Water pressure (don't know if this has any effect)
5. Power to auto-ignition is available (is this 12V or 110V?) yes, I have heard the snap, snap, snap of the auto-ignition
6. Yes, I did tap the main valve very lighty with a mallet

Yes, the stove works
Yes, the fridge is working on propane
Yes, I have propane
Yes, we have both 110V and 12V power

If you've done all this, it's time to worry.

Zep
Old 06-20-2008, 07:05 AM   #4
Rivet Master

Air in the lines ?????

I always run the all burners on my stove to perge the air from the lines.