Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum > Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-07-2010, 02:00 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1976 Argosy 26
Atlanta, , Georgia
Question Help! newbie-will this a/c fit my 26' 1976 Argosy?

Hello,

I'm new to this whole rv thing and to this forum. Last Sunday I bought a 26' 1976 Airstream Argosy. I had it towed up to a repairman/renovation to do some work on it.

I need to get an A/c. He didn't tell me the name/model of the a/c he would go pick up, but told me that it would be $743.75 for a 13,500 BTU w/heatstrip. I tried to do some searching here on these forums for brand names and on the internet. I found this deal and wondered if you all thought it would fit my rv on the top and on the ceiling.

The repairman said they should all be a standard size. He didn't seem to happy when I told him I wanted to buy one myself and ship it there. He said: "well, it's your baby, but I won't be responsible for shipping it back if it doesn't fit." or something like that..not the exact words he said.

Here is the link:
Dometic DUO THERM BRISK AIR CONDITIONER 13500 BTU - $459.99

This is considerable less than what he would buy even with the $99 shipping cost.

I called Dometic and they said they couldn't help me if this unit would be compatible with my rv as far as the amps and what not. They said to call Airstream.

What do you all think?

I would greatly appreciate your thoughts.

Brian
BrianD. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 02:16 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey