Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2014, 09:47 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
2014 28' Flying Cloud
Springfield , Illinois
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 76
Help needed with Dual air conditioners setting

We just picked up our 2014 28' airstream with dual aircondtioners
This might be a silly question but should both air conditioners work at same time when connected to 50amp service?
Here is situation I encounterd yesterday in opening up. I set tempatures the same for both zones, the bedroom being zone 1. The air came on in bedroom but didn't go on in main cabin. The bedroom became like an icebox with the main cabin hot. I finally turned zone 1 off and zone 2 eventually kicked in. Since I was cleaning from stem to stern it again became warm in zone 1 so I turned it back on. It wouldn't engage until I turned temp up in zone 2 so zone 1 would engage but you guessed it, the bedroom became a freezer and wouldn't stop until I messed with turning it up and zone 2 lower.
I believe it is user error (namely me) so any help would be appreciated on how to coordinate the two zones and tempatures settings.
__________________

__________________
SchuHouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 11:04 AM   #2
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,279
On 50 amp service you should have no problems running both A/C units simultaneously. You might have other issues going on.

I would re-set your t/stat first robe certain that it is functioning properly.
__________________

__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 02:23 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member
 
2014 28' Flying Cloud
Springfield , Illinois
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewster View Post
On 50 amp service you should have no problems running both A/C units simultaneously. You might have other issues going on.

I would re-set your t/stat first robe certain that it is functioning properly.
Thanks, everything in manuals also indicate I shouldn't have any issues. I'll try resetting.
__________________
The journey is the destination
SchuHouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 02:34 PM   #4
Well Preserved

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by SchuHouse View Post
Thanks, everything in manuals also indicate I shouldn't have any issues. I'll try resetting.
Resetting is also in the manual, and is pretty easy. I think it is merely pushing two buttons at the same time, but refer to the "resetting" instructions to make sure.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 02:43 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
JFScheck's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Rockville , Maryland
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,474
Images: 33
Having two A/C's on my 30, usually the bedroom a/c would run much less frequently than the unit in the kitchen unless I divided the unit into two separate spaces via the middle slider door.

It was for this reason that I ordered my 27FB (wee bit bigger than your 28) with just the one a/c - it just was the bedroom unit hardly ever ran while the kitchen and sitting area needed the middle unit.

So, get used to the middle unit runner more than the aft, you my need to play with the thermostats (middle warmer & bedroom cooler) to balance out the two units.
__________________
John "JFScheck" Scheck
2015 Roadtrek CS Adventurous XL
2015 Mercedes Sprinter 3500 XL Chassis with Mercedes BlueTec V6 Diesel
**I Love U.S.A.**
JFScheck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 07:20 AM   #6
2 Rivet Member
 
2014 28' Flying Cloud
Springfield , Illinois
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by JFScheck View Post
Having two A/C's on my 30, usually the bedroom a/c would run much less frequently than the unit in the kitchen unless I divided the unit into two separate spaces via the middle slider door.

It was for this reason that I ordered my 27FB (wee bit bigger than your 28) with just the one a/c - it just was the bedroom unit hardly ever ran while the kitchen and sitting area needed the middle unit.

So, get used to the middle unit runner more than the aft, you my need to play with the thermostats (middle warmer & bedroom cooler) to balance out the two units.
Thanks John, that is actually what I was hoping for but it is the bedroom that seems to dominate. Again I'll try resetting next time I go out.
I think I understood manual to read that there are two different din switch settings, one allowing for two units and one allowing for a primary secondary. But I might have that confused.
__________________
The journey is the destination
SchuHouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 08:07 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
murreywalker's Avatar
 
2013 25' FB Flying Cloud
2011 23' FB Flying Cloud
Branson , Missouri
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 734
Images: 1
The reset instructions are at the back of the booklet for the thermostat.

You shouldn't have to adjust the DIP switches.

The reset entails pressing two buttons on your thermostat.

Good luck!
__________________
2013 25 FC FB (Twin)
2013 Suburban 2500

http://www.pbase.com/murreywalker

2011 23 FC FB
murreywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 08:18 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
J. Morgan's Avatar

 
1972 31' Sovereign
1975 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
Benton , Arkansas
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5,040
Images: 11
Help needed with Dual air conditioners setting

Now,,,,, maybe I am not getting it, but reading this thread it makes me think that the factory install of dual A/Cs uses a single thermostat to control them both.

If this is so, why wouldn't they just have put each unit on a separate thermostat located in each respective room or zone?

It never ceases to amaze me how sometimes engineers will abandon a simple concept that works in favor of a complex concept that is at best quirky and at worst ineffectual.

What was the thinking behind this consolidation ?

Gadgetitis?

If a person has to break out an owners manual to make a simple entry on a thermostat, forgive me for stating a fact, the engineer has failed to deliver a satisfactory consumer product.
__________________
The fact that I am opinionated does not presuppose that I am wrong......

J. Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 08:40 AM   #9
2 Rivet Member
 
2014 30' Flying Cloud
Ponce Inlet , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by J. Morgan View Post
Now,,,,, maybe I am not getting it, but reading this thread it makes me think that the factory install of dual A/Cs uses a single thermostat to control them both.
It's one thermostat but there are 2 "zones". Each zone has it's own temperature setting.

We have a 30 with 2 ACs. Our temperature sensor for the living area is by the fridge and the TV. During the day the sensor thinks its much warmer in that area than it actually is. If we were to set both zones at the same temperature we would freeze. We set the bedroom (zone 1) to 77 and the living area (zone 2) to 82. This keeps both areas good for us. At night, we turn off the bedroom and set the living area to 77. Keeps both areas cool and we don't have to have the AC over the bed on to sleep.
__________________
bunni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 08:44 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
J. Morgan's Avatar

 
1972 31' Sovereign
1975 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
Benton , Arkansas
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5,040
Images: 11
Help needed with Dual air conditioners setting

I get it I think, but why not a real thermostat for each cooler in each zone?

This seem a lot more practical, and even more convenient to me.

Sometimes,,,,, technology employed for the sake of technology is a bigger PITA than it is worth.
__________________
The fact that I am opinionated does not presuppose that I am wrong......

J. Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 08:52 AM   #11
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by J. Morgan View Post
I get it I think, but why not a real thermostat for each cooler in each zone?

This seem a lot more practical, and even more convenient to me.
Most modern RVs have multiple air conditioning units (up to 4) and a single heating source (although some have zone control capabilities). By using remotely located temperature sensors in each zone, the owner can easily set the temperatures for the entire RV (think 45'motor homes) from a single location. This was developed from customer feedback quite a few years ago.

With a multi-zone thermostat, the first A/C unit in the chain has all of the wiring (DC, control circuits and 120VAC) while the successive units down the line require only a 4 conductor data cable and 120VAC.

In units with only one furnace or heat source, the furnace wires are usually connected to the #1 unit which then has the heating controls. The heat pump feature is local to each zone along with the cooling.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 08:56 AM   #12
Rivet Master
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,311
I too have had trouble getting the two units working together properly, and have learned a little about them.

There are actually three thermostats. The one on the wall and then each unit has it's own. They communicate with the one on the wall with binary code I am told. I was told by Domedic to disconnect the front unit internal thermostat (the white wire on the board in the unit) and then the thermostat on the wall will be the master over the front unit and do a better job of controlling the temp.

I have done this and it works. However, you will still have to adjust the temp at the wall thermostat not by numbers, because it is not that accurate, but by comfort. You will learn after a while using it what works. For instance, with ours, we have to set the front AC to 70 degrees to get 72 or 74, and the rear must be set to 68 to be comfortable there. They will still work independtly, not in unison.
__________________
Regards,
Steve
SteveH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 09:00 AM   #13
Rivet Master
 
J. Morgan's Avatar

 
1972 31' Sovereign
1975 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
Benton , Arkansas
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5,040
Images: 11
I may be wrong, but it seems to me that all of this could have been accomplished with a separate thermostat in each zone.

It seems as what is saved, is a single 24 volt transformer in each appliance apart from the main unit.

Doesn't this mean that is the main unit or main transformer goes down, all HVAC is rendered inoperative?
__________________
The fact that I am opinionated does not presuppose that I am wrong......

J. Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 09:06 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by J. Morgan View Post
I may be wrong, but it seems to me that all of this could have been accomplished with a separate thermostat in each zone.

It seems as what is saved, is a single 24 volt transformer in each appliance apart from the main unit.

Doesn't this mean that is the main unit or main transformer goes down, all HVAC is rendered inoperative?
Yes, it would have been simpler IMHO, and I have complained to Dometic about such. I was told that, "people like their toys".

And yes, if the main thermostat goes out, the whole system is out.
__________________

__________________
Regards,
Steve
SteveH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Armstrong RV Air conditioners pap Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 72 10-13-2017 03:57 PM
ARA Dash Air Conditioners kmpro Classic Motorhomes 32 10-07-2017 10:53 AM
Advent Air Conditioners... Kevo Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 5 05-17-2011 07:51 PM
HOT Topic for the summer-Air conditioners-Best/worst? thenewkid64 Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 4 07-03-2002 05:55 AM
Air Conditioners JAG Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 2 03-19-2002 02:25 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.