Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-11-2012, 06:47 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2012 25' FB Flying Cloud
Gig Harbor , Washington
Heat pump efficiency

We got our new 25 FB Flying Cloud back from the dealer yesterday where they fixed some small issues and also addressed an issue with the ccc that has not worked right since new. Yesterday when we brought the unit home I turned on the CCC in the heatpump mode set the temp on 68 (about 44 outside). After running all night in the heatpump mode without much outside temp change the best I could do was about 59 degrees as an inside temp.
I'm an engineer and know how heatpumps work and lose efficency as outside air becomes colder.
I did some calculations and based on what I came up the heatpump should have acheived an inside temp of 68 degrees.
Am I losing that much heat? I hope not.
I would like to know if this is a common problem at these (outside) temps or maybe I need a freon charge on my heatpump/AC unit and it is not running at peak.

Best
Dan
danlehosky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 08:37 PM   #2
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

Vintage Kin Owner
Naples , Florida
Dan,

You might be correct that your Penguin heat pump may be low on charge, but there is no practical way to re-charge your roof unit. These appliances are hermetically sealed at the factory and do NOT have process valves on them. They were never designed to be re-charged.