Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2013, 01:58 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
1970 31' Sovereign
Burnsville , North Carolina
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 60
Furnance won't start

Installed new Suburban furnace one year ago in my 1970 Sovereign. It worked fine all winter. Now it won't start. When I move the thermostat up, I can here the furnance click but even the blower won't come on. I have gas and the stove burners are working. I went through all the shut down/start up steps in the manual and still no luck. I'm looking for soemthing I missed to try before I yank this out and have it bench tested. Any ideas? Thanks.
Bill
__________________

__________________
CeloNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 02:16 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
dkottum's Avatar
 
2012 25' Flying Cloud
Battle Lake , Minnesota
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7,716
I suppose the click you hear is igniter, but it seems pretty warm for testing the furnace right now. I'm not sure of the sequence, but perhaps a sensor is too warm to allow propane to come on.

But then there may be air in the line that needs to be purged before propane is available. And is the propane on at the tank. I usually light the stovetop first to get propane flowing after sitting or changing tanks.

doug
__________________

__________________
dkottum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 01:52 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
daveswenson's Avatar
 
2012 28' International
Issaquah , Washington
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by CeloNC View Post
Installed new Suburban furnace one year ago in my 1970 Sovereign. It worked fine all winter. Now it won't start. When I move the thermostat up, I can here the furnance click but even the blower won't come on. I have gas and the stove burners are working. I went through all the shut down/start up steps in the manual and still no luck. I'm looking for soemthing I missed to try before I yank this out and have it bench tested. Any ideas? Thanks.
Bill
If the blower doesn't run the furnace will not light. The sail switch senses air flow from the blower and must close for the gas valve to open. There's a very good explanation of furnace ops in the latest Blue Beret. If you hear clicking I'd suspect the control board, but I'm sure someone with more experience will jump in.
__________________
Dave

2014 Ram 2500 CTD
Pro Pride
Centramatics
daveswenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 09:08 AM   #4
2 Rivet Member
 
1970 31' Sovereign
Burnsville , North Carolina
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 60
Thanks dkottum and daveswenson. We have had the wettest summer in NC history and that may have played a role in messing up the furnance electronics. I am probably going to have to pull it out and have it bench tested.
Bill
__________________
CeloNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.