Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2014, 08:45 PM   #1
SPW
1 Rivet Member
 
1987 29' Sovereign
Atascadero , California
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Furnace - 2" Floor Duct Connection

I am trying to remove my Suburban NT 30 SP furnace so that I can replace the sail switch but am a little puzzled about how to handle the 2" duct going through the floor. There is a nozzle riveted to the bottom of the furnace box which extends a short distance below the floor and a flex duct is attach at that point. Should I simply drill out the rivet and let the nozzle/duct drop down below the floor? My concern, if I do that, is how to pull the nozzle back into place and reattach it when I reinstall the furnace?
__________________

__________________
SPW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 09:29 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
1981 31' Excella II
New Market , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,648
Mine just had a nipple with a couple of tabs on it that you pull through the hole then bend the tabs to hold it to the bottom of the furnace. I left the nipple connected to the hose.

Perry
__________________

__________________
perryg114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 11:38 PM   #3
SPW
1 Rivet Member
 
1987 29' Sovereign
Atascadero , California
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Thanks Perry. Sounds similar; mine also has the two tabs on top; but mine also has two tabs on the bottom that are riveted. I think I'll drill out the rivets and not worry about reattaching them and just use the two tabs on top to hold it in place.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1961.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	259.6 KB
ID:	226154  
__________________
SPW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 11:51 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
1981 31' Excella II
New Market , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,648
I would just use the two tabs. A wood chisel will cut the heads off those rivets.

Perry
__________________
perryg114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 12:09 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
1977 Argosy 24
Currently Looking...
Milltown , Wisconsin
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,069
Why not remove the gas line, electrical plug and screws that hold the inside to the case and just pull the guts out of the case? The case stays with the AS. And don't forget the screw in the center of the exhaust on the outside of the trailer.
__________________
ventport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2014, 08:55 PM   #6
SPW
1 Rivet Member
 
1987 29' Sovereign
Atascadero , California
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Ventport, when I started into this project I hoped I could do as you suggest but I do not see a way to disconnect the gas line without first removing the complete furnace; outer box and all--unfortunate because your approach would save a lot of work. It looks like, when first installed, the gas line was attached before the furnace was slid into the space under the range. When in place, I can't wrench the gas line compression fitting and the gas line serpentines up and down, presumably to provide enough length and flex to slide the unit in and out; see pics. I think its time to detach the 2" duct. Thanks all for the input.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2001.JPG
Views:	81
Size:	129.6 KB
ID:	226225   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2004.JPG
Views:	75
Size:	92.8 KB
ID:	226226  

__________________
SPW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 07:27 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
1981 31' Excella II
New Market , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,648
Normally there is no valve there just an elbow so you can unscrew it. I have taken mine out of the case and removed the complete unit. There is not a lot of difference in the amount of work. If you have never done it before pulling the guts out of the case might take more work and you might break something or rip wires etc.

You do need to make sure you remove the screw in the exhaust vent with either method.

Perry
__________________
perryg114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 11:49 PM   #8
SPW
1 Rivet Member
 
1987 29' Sovereign
Atascadero , California
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
I took the chisel to the duct rivets and pulled the whole unit last night and then pulled the guts out of the box. Waiting for sail switch to arrive in the mail. Hopefully that does the trick. I'm just guessing it is the problem. The blower runs well but there is no ignition or attempt at ignition. Not sure if it getting gas, I don't think it is, but clearly there is no sparking. First I replaced the electrode/sparker but that didn't solve the problem. I'm hoping the sail switch will resolve the apparent lack of gas flow and the lack of spark.
__________________
SPW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 07:02 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
1981 31' Excella II
New Market , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,648
You can fool the thing by shorting the sail switch wires and seeing if it ignites. Make sure the fan is on before doing this.

Perry
__________________
perryg114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 11:31 PM   #10
SPW
1 Rivet Member
 
1987 29' Sovereign
Atascadero , California
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
That's a good thought; may try it tomorrow. Reassembling and getting the unit back into place is a pain but at least that approach would tell me if I should unpackage the switch when it arrives, or not.

Steve
__________________
SPW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 02:11 PM   #11
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
I know you've got it out now, but it would it not have been possible to loosen the flare nut with a crowfoot fitting wrench? I have a set of them, don't use them that often, but once in a while they save a great deal of disassembly.

http://i21.geccdn.net/site/images/n-.../K-T_27319.jpg
__________________
To learn to see below the surface, you must adjust your altitude
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 09:02 PM   #12
SPW
1 Rivet Member
 
1987 29' Sovereign
Atascadero , California
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
I am not familiar with the use of a flare nut wrench but I don't think it was going to help much in the tight space; probably couldn't rotate the wrench more than 30 degrees--if that much. It would have been nice not to have to take the furnace box out but maybe I'm learning more this way--the hard way as usual.

Steve
__________________

__________________
SPW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me Replace Furnace Duct Work LRPorter 1990 - 1993 Excella 0 11-02-2013 01:56 AM
Furnace fixed, duct questions Onawayman Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 4 11-17-2012 04:45 PM
To duct or not to duct! Flysoncloud Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 7 08-08-2010 10:22 AM
Is furnace duct hose the same as household dryer duct hose? Bearstream1 Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 4 01-12-2009 11:21 PM
Argosy furnace duct (missing?) empresley All Argosy Trailers 3 11-26-2007 12:55 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.