Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2010, 10:19 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
2003 25' Safari
Eden Prairie , Minnesota
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 765
Images: 3
Duo-Therm Question

I have a Dometic Duo-Therm Penguin heat pump in my trailer. The instructions say that when the outside air temperature falls below 30 F the digital thermostat will turn off the heat pump and turn on the furnace. Last night it got down to 22 F, but the heat pump continued to run and the furnace never came on. The heat pump was gradually losing the battle as the temp inside the trailer fell to 60 F with the thermostat set to 65. I eventually got up and manually switched over to the furnace.

There is supposed to be a temperature sensor connected to the thermostat to trigger the changeover. Anyone know where that is located? Ideas on how to troubleshoot?
__________________

__________________
Dan
dmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 12:06 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,408
Images: 5
Hmmm..I have that setup and haven't read anything about an automatic switchover. Which manual did you read that?
__________________

__________________
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 07:20 AM   #3
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmac View Post
I have a Dometic Duo-Therm Penguin heat pump in my trailer. The instructions say that when the outside air temperature falls below 30 F the digital thermostat will turn off the heat pump and turn on the furnace. Last night it got down to 22 F, but the heat pump continued to run and the furnace never came on. The heat pump was gradually losing the battle as the temp inside the trailer fell to 60 F with the thermostat set to 65. I eventually got up and manually switched over to the furnace.

There is supposed to be a temperature sensor connected to the thermostat to trigger the changeover. Anyone know where that is located? Ideas on how to troubleshoot?
Dan,

Try re-setting your thermostat. I have posted detailed directions on how to perform that operation, but I will include them here again:


1. turn off the thermostat (Dometic Comfort Control Center or CCC) at the bottom switch.

2. press in the top and bottom buttons on the CCC and hold them in.

3. turn on the bottom switch. You should see 'FF' in the window and it should be back-lit.

4. count to 5 and release the top and bottom buttons.

5. the CCC should be working normally now.

The auto change-over feature should now be activated. If not, PM me for further trouble-shooting.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 07:57 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
2003 25' Safari
Eden Prairie , Minnesota
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 765
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dznf0g View Post
Hmmm..I have that setup and haven't read anything about an automatic switchover. Which manual did you read that?
Look on page 7, section "Aux Heat" of the manual at http://www.rvtechlibrary.com/heatair...tat_owners.pdf.

AUX. HEAT
When in the
HEAT PUMP mode, if the outside ambient temperature
is measured to be below 30F and the vehicle is equipped with a
furnace connected to the Comfort Control Center, the control will
automatically select the
FURNACE operation and the HEAT PUMP

will shut down.
Important:
If vehicle is not equipped with a furnace no heat
will be available below 30F. IF vehicle is equipped with a
furnace and it is connected to its own thermostat, it must be
manually turned ON and OFF for operation.

When this happens, the
AUX. HEAT and the HEAT PUMP indicators
on the LCD will illuminate. Once the outside ambient temperature is
measured above 38F, the control will return to the
HEAT PUMP

operation and shut down the furnace if it is connected to the Comfort
Control Center. If furnace is not connected to the Comfort Control
Center, the furnace thermostat must be manually turned off.
__________________
Dan
dmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 08:00 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
2003 25' Safari
Eden Prairie , Minnesota
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 765
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewster View Post
Dan,

Try re-setting your thermostat. I have posted detailed directions on how to perform that operation, but I will include them here again:


1. turn off the thermostat (Dometic Comfort Control Center or CCC) at the bottom switch.

2. press in the top and bottom buttons on the CCC and hold them in.

3. turn on the bottom switch. You should see 'FF' in the window and it should be back-lit.

4. count to 5 and release the top and bottom buttons.

5. the CCC should be working normally now.

The auto change-over feature should now be activated. If not, PM me for further trouble-shooting.
Thanks for the hint... I reset the thermostat per your instructions. I will have to wait for more cold to see if it works! Is it a frquent problem that the thermostat "forgets" to auto-switch to the furnace unless it is reset? Anything I can do to help it "remember"?
__________________
Dan
dmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 03:55 PM   #6
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmac View Post
Thanks for the hint... I reset the thermostat per your instructions. I will have to wait for more cold to see if it works! Is it a frquent problem that the thermostat "forgets" to auto-switch to the furnace unless it is reset? Anything I can do to help it "remember"?
If your furnace is operated solely by the CCC, then the switch-over should be ttoally seamless depending on the outside temps. That is assuming that the outdoor tempo sensor in the upper air conditioner unit is properly connected. If the CCC again fails to switch over to the furnace at low ambient temps, you might have this checked by any factory authorized Dometic service center who are familiar with this feature.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 04:54 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,408
Images: 5
does anybody know if this has to be reset anytime the batteries are removed and reinstalled, or does it retain the programming?
__________________
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 05:43 PM   #8
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by dznf0g View Post
does anybody know if this has to be reset anytime the batteries are removed and reinstalled, or does it retain the programming?
YES!

The CC re-set should be done whenever 12VDC is removed from the trailer. That includes using the 'store/use' switch at the door in newer units.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 08:48 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
Westfalia's Avatar
 
2008 27' International CCD FB
Boerne, TX / , Evergreen, CO
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 904
Images: 35
Send a message via AIM to Westfalia Send a message via Skype™ to Westfalia
That's a good tip Lew. I didn't know that, even after you showed me how to do this in person. Are there any other signs of a needed CC reset during times that the heat is NOT running?
__________________
Chris and Christina- Boerne, TX / Evergreen, CO - TAC TX-7
2008 27'FB Int'l Signature CCD
Westfalia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 10:05 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
2003 25' Safari
Eden Prairie , Minnesota
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 765
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewster View Post
YES!

The CC re-set should be done whenever 12VDC is removed from the trailer. That includes using the 'store/use' switch at the door in newer units.
Wow! I wish they put that in the instruction manual, or better yet a sticker on the thermostat.
__________________
Dan
dmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 06:35 PM   #11
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmac View Post
Wow! I wish they put that in the instruction manual, or better yet a sticker on the thermostat.
That's why guys like me (even hough we are few and far between) make the BIG BUCKS!!!
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 10:14 PM   #12
DAHarvey
 
2002 22' International
2004 22' International CCD
2010 25' FB Flying Cloud
Johnson City , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewster View Post
That's why guys like me (even hough we are few and far between) make the BIG BUCKS!!!
Lewster, hopefully you can help me with my problem. I have a 2010 Flying Cloud Airstream with a AC/Heat Pump/Furnace and a 5 button CCC. Even after trying the reset I can not get Furnace to show up on the CC. I only have one zone. The heat pump works okay, but not hot enough. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciate.
__________________
daharvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 05:25 AM   #13
3 Rivet Member
 
2008 31' Classic
Lake Charles , Louisiana
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 147
All of this is great/useful info. We have dual AC with heat pumps and I could not figure out why the furnace would not kick on when the ambient temp dropped too low. Now I know. And due to not using the AS as much as we would like, my batteries have been dead a few times. Thanks........steve
__________________
Steve & Mary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 06:14 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
Dwight's Avatar
 
1999 34' Excella
Joshua , Texas
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 548
Images: 2
Always good info on the forum...
__________________

__________________
History doesn't repeat itself, people do!
Dwight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diagnosing Duo Therm AC IndyAnne Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 9 12-05-2010 12:49 PM
Replacing Armstrong with Duo-Therm question By the Bay Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 6 10-10-2009 08:38 AM
Duo-Therm A/C on my Avion. 68 Suburban Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 4 09-06-2009 12:20 PM
Duo-therm heater harold1946 General Motorhome Topics 4 11-12-2007 06:08 PM
duo-therm not working toolman5252 Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 6 02-04-2006 12:24 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.