Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2011, 07:06 AM   #15
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by daharvey View Post
Lewster, hopefully you can help me with my problem. I have a 2010 Flying Cloud Airstream with a AC/Heat Pump/Furnace and a 5 button CCC. Even after trying the reset I can not get Furnace to show up on the CC. I only have one zone. The heat pump works okay, but not hot enough. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciate.
daharvey,

I know exactly what your problem is, but the remedy is far too complex to post it, and my fingers (both of them) start to cramp after typing a couple of lines....

Sent you a PM
__________________

__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 12:38 PM   #16
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
daharvey you have to be sure the switches inside the A/C are set right. See the Duo Therm manual to figure out how they have to be set, then you can get at them from the inside by dropping the plastic air diffuser thing. It's held on with 6 or 8 screws, remove the little filter thingys first. It's a fiddly process to get the air diffuser out, find the switches, change them, reset the thermostat, and put the air diffuser back on, but not difficult. I believe the dip switches are inside a little plastic box if I remember right.
__________________

__________________
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 12:21 AM   #17
DAHarvey
 
2002 22' International
2004 22' International CCD
2010 25' FB Flying Cloud
Johnson City , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9
After some great advice from Lewster, I pull into an Airstream RV dealership (mainly because I did not have a ladder with me), explained to them that my furnace was not showing up on my CCC and also informed them of the information Lewster provided me, they then quickly jumped on top of the trailer, removed the ac cover, flipped some dip switches and taitaid - the furnace is working perfectly now.
Last year I had the ac switched out from a 13500 btu to a 15000 btu hoping it would keep the trailer colder during the hot Texas summer months, I believe at that time the dip switches did not get set correctly.
And by the way, the 15000 btu did not make a big difference. I will probably start another thread on this topic, if there is not already one!
Lewster, thank you for your help, it really save me time and money.
__________________
daharvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 06:40 PM   #18
3 Rivet Member
 
2005 25' Safari
2016 30' Classic
Hilliard , Ohio
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 114
I have the 5 button Ccc with heat pump and furnace controlled from the same ccc. On a trip last month the outside temp dropped to 29 one night. The heat pump stopped for a while but the furnace never kicked on. After a while the pump started again. I did the thermostat reset a couple days prior without power disruption. May be wrong assumption but I assume dip switches are ok if thermostat displays devices correctly. Is the switch over to furnace supposed to be instantaneous? Has anyone experienced the switch over?
__________________
2016 Classic
2010 Ford F-150 Lariat
jeff4506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 07:16 PM   #19
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff4506 View Post
I have the 5 button Ccc with heat pump and furnace controlled from the same ccc. On a trip last month the outside temp dropped to 29 one night. The heat pump stopped for a while but the furnace never kicked on. After a while the pump started again. I did the thermostat reset a couple days prior without power disruption. May be wrong assumption but I assume dip switches are ok if thermostat displays devices correctly. Is the switch over to furnace supposed to be instantaneous? Has anyone experienced the switch over?
Jeff,

The change-over from heat pump to furnace is not instantaneous, but should happen after the exterior temp sense in the roof air communicates to the relay board that the outside temps are too low to operate the heat pump.

I would suspect the several conditions may apply: the outdoor thermal sensor is not connected or is not connected properly or the relay board is not responding properly to the signal.

A properly qualified, factory authorized Dometic shop should be able to figure it out for you.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 07:26 AM   #20
3 Rivet Member
 
2005 25' Safari
2016 30' Classic
Hilliard , Ohio
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 114
Thanks lewster. I was fishing for some first hand experience and also trying to avoid a trip up on the roof this time of year. While my internet time is limited I've not done exhaustive searches on the topic, but I'm wondering if anyone on the forum has experienced the switch-over and back live, as is described by many according to the manuals. I had a thought that maybe in my situation since the temp was hovering around 29 or 30, the internal temp may not have dropped enough to call the furnace before the pump decided to kick on again. Just not sure what the "user experience" is supposed to be with respect to time. Who knows, could be broke like you said. I have another cold trip this weekend. Forecast is showing a low of 31. Going to pay closer attention this time.
__________________
2016 Classic
2010 Ford F-150 Lariat
jeff4506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 07:35 AM   #21
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,281
[QUOTE=............snip............. Forecast is showing a low of 31. Going to pay closer attention this time.[/QUOTE]

In your situation, I would just set the CCC to 'Furnace' when the outside temps drop below 45* and not rely on the auto switching feature until you are sure that it works correctly.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 07:42 AM   #22
Moderator
 
jcanavera's Avatar

 
2004 30' Classic Slideout
Fenton , Missouri
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 9,002
Images: 143
Send a message via AIM to jcanavera Send a message via Skype™ to jcanavera
Personally I think the auto switch is set too low and by the time it gets to 30, the heat pump has lost a lot of its efficiency. I typically switch over to furnace once I find that the heat pump runs so long to maintain temps, that it starts going into its defrost cycle.

Jack
__________________
Jack Canavera
STL Mo.
AIR #56
'04 Classic 30' S.O.,'03 GMC Savana 2500,'14 Honda CTX 700
jcanavera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 11:50 AM   #23
3 Rivet Member
 
2005 25' Safari
2016 30' Classic
Hilliard , Ohio
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 114
I agree. In my situation though I was excited to hear this feature existed and there's a part of me that wants to know it works so in the future I can rely on it and save some $ on propane. Plus, I'm just one of those people that likes to keep everything in working order.
__________________
2016 Classic
2010 Ford F-150 Lariat
jeff4506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 03:00 PM   #24
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
After fussing around with the heat pump feature I decided to put in electric resistance heat with its own thermostat.

It is much quieter and I can leave the Duo Therm Device on "furnace" with a setpoint a degree or two lower then everything works fine.
__________________
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 03:02 PM   #25
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcanavera View Post
it starts going into its defrost cycle.
KA-THWUMP HISSSssss whirrrRRRRRRR.....
__________________
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 06:16 PM   #26
3 Rivet Member
 
2005 25' Safari
2016 30' Classic
Hilliard , Ohio
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 114
It's 23 degrees F here now and while I didn't witness the transition from heat pump to furnace, the end result was just as described displaying "aux heat" below "heat pump" while the furnace ran. Not a huge deal to most, but it restored some confidence in me. My manual says the changeover is at 29 degrees but I think the reality is a little lower as radiant heat from the cabin probably affects the temp sensor.

I agree with others that 29 is too low but I have to say the heat pump still did ok maintaining 65 degrees inside the couple times it dipped just below 30.

I would imagine a resistor in series with the temp sensor could trick the unit to change over at a higher temp. Anyone try that?
__________________

__________________
2016 Classic
2010 Ford F-150 Lariat
jeff4506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diagnosing Duo Therm AC IndyAnne Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 9 12-05-2010 12:49 PM
Replacing Armstrong with Duo-Therm question By the Bay Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 6 10-10-2009 08:38 AM
Duo-Therm A/C on my Avion. 68 Suburban Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 4 09-06-2009 12:20 PM
Duo-therm heater harold1946 General Motorhome Topics 4 11-12-2007 06:08 PM
duo-therm not working toolman5252 Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 6 02-04-2006 12:24 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.