Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2013, 11:32 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
matthorr's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB International
Annapolis , Maryland
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 116
Dual zone thermostat?

Does anyone have any experience installing a second temperature probe (in the galley/seating area) with a new Dometic Comfort Control Center II thermostat? It looks like it can control up to 4 zones but I can't find the individual temp sensors for sale.

When I leave the dogs in the trailer, I like to keep them out of the bedroom (less room means less trouble) by closing both privacy curtains. But, since the thermostat is in the bedroom and the a/c vent is in the galley, the temperature control is way off because the curtains block airflow. I'd like to add a second temperature probe in the galley/seating area so it will regulate the temperature properly when the bedroom is sealed off.
__________________

__________________
matthorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 12:20 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
richinny's Avatar
 
2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,122
my unit has dual ac's. from the parts list it shows part number 690380-12 SENSOR CABLE 40' DUAL AC ONLY.

if member LEWSTER sees this he might have a lot more info for you. if the number is correct, it will look like a long wire with small sensor on the end.
__________________

__________________
Ricky
2012 F150 Super Crew 5-1/2' bed Ecoboost 4x4 3.73 elec. lock diff. Propride hitch
give life. kidney & pancreas transplant 9/9/06
Ingrid-my unofficial '"World's Oldest Streamer" 1909-2008 R.I.P.
richinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 12:44 PM   #3
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,279
YOU RANG?

The remote sensor that you seek is Dometic part # 3106486.008
MSRP is $17.87

Any Authorized Dometic Dealer should be able to order it for you.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 02:24 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
richinny's Avatar
 
2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,122
lewster, you're starting to scare me! lol.

how does one set up a zone for the extra sensor?
__________________
Ricky
2012 F150 Super Crew 5-1/2' bed Ecoboost 4x4 3.73 elec. lock diff. Propride hitch
give life. kidney & pancreas transplant 9/9/06
Ingrid-my unofficial '"World's Oldest Streamer" 1909-2008 R.I.P.
richinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 02:35 PM   #5
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by richinny View Post
lewster, you're starting to scare me! lol.

how does one set up a zone for the extra sensor?
THAT is the ultimate question!!!!!!!!!!!!

Actually, the new temperature sensor plugs in to a similar white 2 conductor connector located on the A/C unit. You then have to select which zone it will be (let's assume it is zone 2). To do this, you then have to locate the dip switches on the relay board on the curb side of the upper unit, under the shroud in the little metal compartment help to the frame with 2-5/16" hex head screws.

Remove the cover and you will see a red set of 'dip switches' about mid-board. You have to activate 'zone 2' and nothing else unless it's a heat pump, and then the 'heat pump' switch is also activated, or for a unit with heat strip.....the 'heat strip' switch. Do not activate the furnace of any other settings!

Now close it up and head back to your Comfort Control. Do a re-set of the thermostat and you should now be getting both zone 1 and zone 2. The furnace should only show on zone 1.

Questions??????????????
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 02:44 PM   #6
3 Rivet Member
 
matthorr's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB International
Annapolis , Maryland
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 116
Lewster - Thanks! I'll order the part and then the real fun begins... I hope I can run the sensor to the wall above the gaucho TV. If not, I should be able to attach it to the overhead vent for the AC.
__________________
matthorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 02:55 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
richinny's Avatar
 
2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,122
lewster, i think i'll save it for you to do in 15 minutes rather than me taking 4 hours :-)

we'll see what happens in the fall.
__________________
Ricky
2012 F150 Super Crew 5-1/2' bed Ecoboost 4x4 3.73 elec. lock diff. Propride hitch
give life. kidney & pancreas transplant 9/9/06
Ingrid-my unofficial '"World's Oldest Streamer" 1909-2008 R.I.P.
richinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 03:17 PM   #8
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthorr View Post
Lewster - Thanks! I'll order the part and then the real fun begins... I hope I can run the sensor to the wall above the gaucho TV. If not, I should be able to attach it to the overhead vent for the AC.
Ideal suggested location for the remote temperature sensor is 54" above floor level away from any sources of heat or cold.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 06:01 PM   #9
3 Rivet Member
 
matthorr's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB International
Annapolis , Maryland
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 116
While I'm up there, should I install a "hard motor start kit" to help prevent popping the circuit breaker / overloading a generator? I have a new model Dometic (Penguin II Heat Pump Model #65185, I think).
__________________
matthorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 06:21 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
Westfalia's Avatar
 
2008 27' International CCD FB
Boerne, TX / , Evergreen, CO
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 904
Images: 35
Send a message via AIM to Westfalia Send a message via Skype™ to Westfalia
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewster View Post
Ideal suggested location for the remote temperature sensor is 54" above floor level away from any sources of heat or cold.
Ha, that's a REAL challenge in these trailers. Maybe in the bathroom
__________________
Chris and Christina- Boerne, TX / Evergreen, CO - TAC TX-7
2008 27'FB Int'l Signature CCD
Westfalia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 07:02 PM   #11
BAB
Rivet Master
 
BAB's Avatar

 
2015 30' Classic
2012 28' International
Greensboro , North Carolina
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,574
I have the same issue with thermostat placement. The thermostat is in the BR. Even with the privacy curtain open, if I set the thermostat to 72 when it's 72 in the BR it'll be 68 in the main area -- cold enough to hang meat! Now if it's 90 degrees outside that equation looks a LOT different.
__________________
_________________
"SilverLeaf II" 2015 30' Classic
2014 RAM 2500 Laramie 4x4 CC w/6.7L Cummins
ProPride 3P
AIR# 58452
WBCCI # 3430-Unit 21
BAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 08:40 PM   #12
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthorr View Post
While I'm up there, should I install a "hard motor start kit" to help prevent popping the circuit breaker / overloading a generator? I have a new model Dometic (Penguin II Heat Pump Model #65185, I think).
The 'hard start kit' is simply a new start capacitor and PRCT (motor start device). It is the same micro farad specifications as the old one. Unless your old capacitors are not operating to spec. the new kit will not help in your situation.....BUT....... you can install it if it will give you some piece of mind.
__________________

__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.