Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2011, 09:55 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
fmrcaptevil's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Weldon Spring , Missouri
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 456
Dometic Comfort Control Center Codes

Does anyone know what "EE" means? (A/C just quit; did not trip c/b; noticed comfort control center went blank; tried the reset procedure.....it shows "FF" when switch turned on, but "EE" when buttons released, with nothing else displayed; 12V system looks normal). Hopefully this is just a bad CCC.
__________________

__________________
fmrcaptevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 10:40 PM   #2
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,281
EE is a code for lack of communication between the A/C unit and the CCC. It can not be re-set.

Try removing the CCC from the wall and remove the cable that looks like a phone wire. Replace and remove again several times and try the re-set.

If you don't get the FF, you have lost the connection to the upper A/C unit.

Next, remove the lower A/C grill and look for one or two small phone cable unions. They usually are the culprit. Try replacing it and see if you get the com back.

Another way to check it is to use a good, known, data cable (NOT phone cable) and try the connections again.

You could also have a bad end on the com cable.
__________________

__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 09:45 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member
 
fmrcaptevil's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Weldon Spring , Missouri
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 456
Thanks for the response, lewster, I really appreciate it. I did find way too much crap on the first RJ11 terminal (below the roof unit), and the union that connects it to the phone cable which goes to the CCC. I crimped on a new RJ11, replaced the union, and now it's dead as a doornail....won't display anything. So I tried another new RJ11 (yes, I was careful to not crimp it on upside down). Anyway, still dead.
The Airstream dealer near my present location (Grand Rapids, MI), can look at it this Friday.....in the meantime, I'll be looking for some shade!
BTW, there is a second (and unused) phone cable in the same "bundle" which also terminates with an RJ11....do you know what that is?
__________________
fmrcaptevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 11:31 AM   #4
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
The extra cable may be a connection for the rear air even if rear air was never installed.
__________________
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 02:58 PM   #5
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmrcaptevil View Post
Thanks for the response, lewster, I really appreciate it. I did find way too much crap on the first RJ11 terminal (below the roof unit), and the union that connects it to the phone cable which goes to the CCC. I crimped on a new RJ11, replaced the union, and now it's dead as a doornail....won't display anything. So I tried another new RJ11 (yes, I was careful to not crimp it on upside down). Anyway, still dead.
The Airstream dealer near my present location (Grand Rapids, MI), can look at it this Friday.....in the meantime, I'll be looking for some shade!
BTW, there is a second (and unused) phone cable in the same "bundle" which also terminates with an RJ11....do you know what that is?
Every Dometic unit is set up for use in multiple roof air situations. On many larger motor homes, you typically see 3 or even 4 roof units, all tied in series and controlled by one CCC.

If you can try patching in a good data cable, you might be able to start eliminating contact points that might show you where the communication problem is. Another area I didn't mention is the relay board that controls the upper unit. It might have failed as well. There is a 3 (or 5) amp fuse in that board that you should check too.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 03:54 PM   #6
4 Rivet Member
 
fmrcaptevil's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Weldon Spring , Missouri
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 456
Again, thanks, lewster. Is that relay board (with the fuse) located in the upper unit? Assuming that's what failed, is that why the CCC won't even light up, let alone display codes?
__________________
fmrcaptevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 05:41 PM   #7
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmrcaptevil View Post
Again, thanks, lewster. Is that relay board (with the fuse) located in the upper unit? Assuming that's what failed, is that why the CCC won't even light up, let alone display codes?
The CCC gets it's 12VDC power thru the data cable emanating from the relay board in the upper unit. It is there that the 12VDC power supply from the trailer connects to the relay board and then thru the data cable to the CCC.

You might check to see if you have a blown 12VDC fuse in your fuse panel (test each one, don't just look at them), and check the small fuse on the relay board as well. There should also be a red and black wire pair that is the 12VDC feed to the relay board. I would check the crimps to be sure that they are sound.

If you are good with a meter, you can test those wires to be sure that you are getting 12VDC thru them. If not, the problem is downstream in your 12VDC power supply.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 12:20 PM   #8
4 Rivet Member
 
fmrcaptevil's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Weldon Spring , Missouri
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 456
Problem solved this morning by Woodland Travel Center (Grand Rapids, MI). It was the 3 amp fuse in the relay board in the upper unit. lewster was right; thanks lewster, for sharing your knowledge, which pointed me in the right direction.
__________________
fmrcaptevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 10:41 AM   #9
3 Rivet Member
 
Brow324's Avatar
 
2007 27' Safari FB SE
Scurry , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 135
Lewster...I am having a similar issue. But I have power to the CCC and all main fuses and breakers are working properly.
I have diagnosed the data cable and reverse polarity adapters (it looks like I have two reverse polarity adapters at the a/c control unit which are connected to the two a/c data wires via RJ11s and the gray RJ11 data cable feeding thru the wall to the CCC appears to be a standard phone cable. Thus: The polarity reverse is taking place via the adapters.)
I have cleaned all data connectors on both ends of the line and the CCC board and switches with contact cleaner and canned air...done the reset a few times and still get the EE code. My next diagnose is the 3 amp fuse in the relay board in the upper unit. Where, exactly is that board located...easy to find? Does it have a cover?
__________________
'07 27 FB - H.A.
Brow324 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 11:22 AM   #10
3 Rivet Member
 
Brow324's Avatar
 
2007 27' Safari FB SE
Scurry , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 135
Re my previous post: Those two adapters might be just standard connection adapters and not reverse polarity adapters.
__________________
'07 27 FB - H.A.
Brow324 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 11:51 AM   #11
Well Preserved

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,193
This is as good a place as any to post the codes and their meanings. Anybody that has one of these units should bookmark this thread for future reference, it's kind of a pain to repost constantly:

E1: loss of communication between ccc2 thermostat and system power module board(s).


E2: open circuit or out of range indoor temp sensor. Fan only will work.

E3: Shorted indoor temp sensor. Fan only will operate.

E4: open circuit or out of range outdoor temp sensor.

E5: open circuit or out of range freeze sensor.

E6: open circuit humidity sensor.

E7: loss of 120v power.

E8: invalid zone configuration. Dip switches set incorrectly.

E9: invalid zone configuration. Check dip switch configuration.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 07:00 PM   #12
3 Rivet Member
 
Brow324's Avatar
 
2007 27' Safari FB SE
Scurry , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 135
where is the relay board located? need to check the 3 amp fuse. I'm guessing it's accessed from the top shroud since I can't see it from below in the cabin. Any guidance would be appreciated.
__________________
'07 27 FB - H.A.
Brow324 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 08:28 PM   #13
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brow324 View Post
where is the relay board located? need to check the 3 amp fuse. I'm guessing it's accessed from the top shroud since I can't see it from below in the cabin. Any guidance would be appreciated.
Depending on your unit, the relay board is either under the shroud on the curb side (behind a small metal door) or accessible from inside the trailer when you remove the air distribution box. It will be incased in a square metal box.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 08:39 PM   #14
3 Rivet Member
 
Brow324's Avatar
 
2007 27' Safari FB SE
Scurry , Texas
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 135
found it...under the shroud. checked the 3a fuse and it's good. replaced it for good measure with a new one. I've checked and double checked, cleaned and double cleaned all data connections, done the reset each time...and am still getting the EE code at the CCC.
am now thinking the CCC is kaput.
__________________

__________________
'07 27 FB - H.A.
Brow324 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clipper, Dometic Refrigerator, Fridge Lamp Switch masseyfarm Flat-Front (Cutter, Clipper, XC, XL & Skydeck) Motorhomes 10 01-05-2013 12:14 PM
Duo-Therm Comfort Control masseyfarm Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 1 01-30-2011 09:00 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.