Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-10-2017, 05:38 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1966 22' Safari
1955 22' Flying Cloud
Fredericksburg , Texas
Concealing a Mini Split AC

I'd like to install a mini split AC unit in my trailer (restoration thread is Tale of a '55 FC Whale Reno) for its efficiency and quiet operation. I've seen the condenser units placed on tongues or bumpers, but would rather have it concealed. My hope is to place it as shown in the drawing with the lines between the air handler and condenser running in the wall, but I'm not an HVAC expert and would like to know if this is viable. Can I get some input from those of you who have done this and/or considered it?

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN3332.JPG
Views:	468
Size:	902.4 KB
ID:	300717

Name:	DSCN3338.JPG
Views:	333
Size:	867.9 KB
ID:	300718

Essentially I want to extend the kitchen counter under the window to create a space to house the condenser. This would step the kitchen cabinet down and appear as a little coffee table at the end of the gaucho. The condenser will be isolated in a sealed and insulated plenum within the cabinet and will be sized to provide specified clearances. I will have a screened air intake below the unit with sides to isolate the cavity of the belly pan from the air intake. On the streetside I will have a screened, louvered hatch for the exhausted air. I hope to run the lines between the 2 units within the wall cavity and I hope to hide the air handler in a specially fabricated head locker. I realize this will take away from my cabinet space; however, it's a tradeoff I am willing to accept.

Appreciate your thoughts,
Bubba
Bubba L is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 05:50 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1986 25' Sovereign
2008 F350, 6.4L diesel , Oak Harbor, WA