Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2010, 11:47 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
2009 25' FB Flying Cloud
manitou springs , Colorado
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 18
Can't get duotherm to acknowledge furnace...

2009 Flying Cloud, used once, bought from original owner (TX RV dealership owner). Anyhow, the duotherm lcd thermastat won't recognize furnace as operable mode. Checked furnace from outside, it has never been used and is switched to "reset" (other choice, "off"). Called service from where I purcahsed (I am in CO). Turns out they replaced entire AC unit as it was blowing fuses and they could not figure out why. Service guy tells me there is a relay to furnace through AC unit and maybe they forgot to connect it??? When I took off interior cover found two yellow wires in main wire harness not hooked to anything and a pair of thin white wires that came together into a plastic female connector. No matching male connector to be found.

Does the furnace wire through the AC unit make sense? what else could be wrong? it is starting to get cold up here at 7000ft! Please help, and thank you!
__________________

__________________
movin-in is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 12:58 AM   #2
_
 
. , .
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,812
lots of options here...

the thermostat may need to be setup/linked to the furnace

(this is explained in the thermo booklet and on line...

perhaps the dealer/service guy was referring to the DIP SWITCHES...

there are DIP switches on the AC

that need to be properly flipped for full function at the thermostat.

each DIP recognizes stuff ((furance, ac, heat pump, thermostat and so on))

the DIPs are outside, UP top, under the shroud

(location and SEQUENCE is covered in the a/s INSTALL manual)...

loose wires in the ac cover? that's not good.

take a few PHOTOS and post them or get out the a/s INSTALL instructions and read...

IF the dealer didn't include those instructions, they are ONLINE for reading.

cheers
2air'
__________________

__________________
all of the true things that i am about to tell you are shameless lies. l.b.j.

we are here on earth to fart around. don't let anybody tell you any different. k.v.
2airishuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 05:14 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
87MH's Avatar
 
1978 31' Sovereign
Texas Airstream Harbor , Zavalla, in the Deep East Texas Piney Woods on Lake Sam Rayburn
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,435
Images: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by movin-in View Post
... the duotherm lcd thermastat won't recognize furnace as operable mode. Checked furnace from outside, it has never been used and is switched to "reset" (other choice, "off")....I took off interior cover found two yellow wires in main wire harness not hooked to anything and a pair of thin white wires that came together into a plastic female connector. No matching male connector to be found.
Does the furnace wire through the AC unit make sense?

The two yellow lines go to a load shed to prevent two AC's coming on at the same time if you are only on a 35 amp service. You don't need to be concerned with these - they are mostly for MoHo use.

The two white wires are for a remote sensor cable and are probably wired correctly.

There are two blue wires that should come from the control board to the furnace thermostat wiring.

Unless you have a heat strip, all of the dip switches should probably be in the "off" position.
__________________
Dennis

"Suck it up, spend the bucks, do it right the first time."

WBCCI # 1113
AirForums #1737

Trailer '78 31' Sovereign

Living Large at an Airstream Park on the Largest Lake Totally Contained in Texas
Texas Airstream Harbor, Inc.
87MH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 05:46 PM   #4
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
http://bryantrv.com/docs2/docs/acservice.pdf
http://bryantrv.com/docs2/docs/ccc5.pdf
http://bryantrv.com/docs2/docs/ccc4.pdf


If you have the 5-button thermostat then there is a DIP switch that indicates the presence of a furnace. This DIP switch must be turned on and the thermostat reset.

4-button thermostats are different and generally assume that there is always a furnace.
__________________
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 08:28 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
87MH's Avatar
 
1978 31' Sovereign
Texas Airstream Harbor , Zavalla, in the Deep East Texas Piney Woods on Lake Sam Rayburn
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,435
Images: 292
I Disagree

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jammer View Post
http://bryantrv.com/docs2/docs/acservice.pdf
http://bryantrv.com/docs2/docs/ccc5.pdf
http://bryantrv.com/docs2/docs/ccc4.pdf


...If you have the 5-button thermostat then there is a DIP switch that indicates the presence of a furnace. This DIP switch must be turned on and the thermostat reset...
The first dip switch on SOME models control an integrated heat strip - not a furnace....if so installed (internal heat strip) this first dip switch must be switched "on".



From the AC Service PDF above...


"One Rooftop Air Conditioner plus One Gas Furnace
To configure one rooftop air conditioner plus one gas furnace,
all Dip switches are .OFF. and the freeze control is
plugged into the proper connector (blue). Two thermostat
wires from the furnace, AC power, DC power and communication
line are properly connected to the air conditioner control box."

or, if the unit is a heat pump...

"One Rooftop Heat Pump Plus One Gas Furnace
To configure one rooftop heat pump plus one gas furnace,
all Dip switches are OFF. The freeze control is NOT used.
The blue connector must stay open (P5). The ambient sensor is plugged into the proper connector (red). Two thermostat wires from the furnace, AC power, DC power and communication line are properly connected to the heat pump electronic control box."

__________________
Dennis

"Suck it up, spend the bucks, do it right the first time."

WBCCI # 1113
AirForums #1737

Trailer '78 31' Sovereign

Living Large at an Airstream Park on the Largest Lake Totally Contained in Texas
Texas Airstream Harbor, Inc.
87MH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duotherm thermostat crispyboy Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 5 10-31-2008 08:50 AM
ordering new penguin duotherm twiggy137 Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 0 05-31-2008 08:25 PM
Duotherm A/C support bracket? rphdiego Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 2 03-21-2008 06:32 AM
1969 GT DuoTherm dbaur Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 6 10-08-2006 11:50 PM
need gasket for original DuoTherm furnace KHarris Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 2 10-01-2006 05:33 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.