Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2009, 04:11 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
dnrtheil's Avatar
 
1964 24' Tradewind
Portage , Michigan
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 332
Images: 23
Can you Help with my Furnace Problem

Long story short.
Used Furnace NT30 with spark ignition.
After install, the furnace ran through two complete cycles, fan start, heat up, cool down, fan off. On the third try it would not produce a flame. I am 100% sure the sail switch works, the ignitor produces a spark, I can smell gas outside at the exhaust port, I can also hear gas leave the LP tanks while the furnace is trying to start. Is there a chance the spark is not enough or that I am not getting enough gas into the combustion chamber to produce a flame? I see a couple of on-line stores do not let you return a gas valve and at $90.00 I am hesitant to get one and that not be the problem.
Any thoughts?

Thanks - Derek
__________________

__________________
Operation "SAVE RUDY" Strike Team (Associate Member)
dnrtheil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 05:48 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
garry's Avatar
 
1969 31' Sovereign
Broken Arrow , Oklahoma
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,362
Images: 7
Sounds like the spark is firing to the side and not across the gas I have seen this happen before.

It can be adjusted but you will have to look at it when sparking to see where it is sparking. It will always go to the closest ground.
__________________

__________________
Garry
garry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 07:02 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member
 
dnrtheil's Avatar
 
1964 24' Tradewind
Portage , Michigan
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 332
Images: 23
When the electrode fires or sparks, should it be constant or not? Should you be able to hear the spark click like on a house furnace? I installed a new electrode and it still will not start. I am wondering if the spark is not getting enough power, as it looks weak and does not fire consistently. I am thinking of ordering a new board.

Derek
__________________
Operation "SAVE RUDY" Strike Team (Associate Member)
dnrtheil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 07:29 PM   #4
3 Rivet Member
 
Bfrank's Avatar
 
1979 24' Airstream Excella 24
Adams , Tennessee
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 110
If your valve is sticking that could cause your problem or it could possibly be the board bad grounds usually are the culprit, you might consider pulling the unit and setting it up to run on a bench by supplying gas from a tank for a grille the unit should slide out of it's housing if you can get to
the gas line to disconnect it you will have to remove the screw in the center of the outlett on the coupler mounted on the outside then it will slide off of the intake and exhaust ports. I paid 700 bucks for a new one
and just slid the new unit into the old housing because of the duct work
and I have been very happy with it. Good Luck
__________________
Frank & Lisa Sullivan
Bfrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 08:42 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,814
Images: 12
If it fire once the that kind of confirms it works.

The next thing I would do is loosen the gas line at the furnace just enough to smell gas. Tighten it down and try again. If a slug of air got in the gas line the pilot orifice is very small and will not bleed the air off in several cycles thus causing one to think the furnace is bad.

If after you do not get heat knowing there is gas at the furnace then it is time to look elsewhere.
__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 09:02 PM   #6
4 Rivet Member
 
dnrtheil's Avatar
 
1964 24' Tradewind
Portage , Michigan
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 332
Images: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bfrank View Post
If your valve is sticking that could cause your problem or it could possibly be the board bad grounds usually are the culprit, you might consider pulling the unit and setting it up to run on a bench by supplying gas from a tank for a grille the unit should slide out of it's housing if you can get to
the gas line to disconnect it you will have to remove the screw in the center of the outlett on the coupler mounted on the outside then it will slide off of the intake and exhaust ports. I paid 700 bucks for a new one
and just slid the new unit into the old housing because of the duct work
and I have been very happy with it. Good Luck
I have thought about checking the grounds and other connections at the board and replacing the wire going from the board to the electrode.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HowieE View Post
If it fire once the that kind of confirms it works.

The next thing I would do is loosen the gas line at the furnace just enough to smell gas. Tighten it down and try again. If a slug of air got in the gas line the pilot orifice is very small and will not bleed the air off in several cycles thus causing one to think the furnace is bad.

If after you do not get heat knowing there is gas at the furnace then it is time to look elsewhere.
I am certain gas is getting into the combustion chamber, I was able to get the furnace to start Saturday after bending the electrodes around. Next time all I got were two bursts of flame. Another burst of flame tonight after installing a new electrode.

Derek
__________________
Operation "SAVE RUDY" Strike Team (Associate Member)
dnrtheil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 09:05 PM   #7
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
vinstream's Avatar
 
1962 19' Globetrotter
1963 19' Globetrotter
1961 19' Globetrotter
Wheat Ridge , Colorado
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 624
Images: 2
Can you hear the sail switch click on after the fan blows? If there is not enough movement of air the sail switch will not let the furnace light! I have found that a low battery will not turn the fan as fast as needed for the switch to work..... If it worked and now does not work again... I think it could be low battery or maybe time for a new fan....
__________________
www.VINSTREAM.com
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
WBCCI # 1962
Instagram #Vinstream
vinstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 07:46 AM   #8
4 Rivet Member
 
dnrtheil's Avatar
 
1964 24' Tradewind
Portage , Michigan
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 332
Images: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinstream View Post
Can you hear the sail switch click on after the fan blows? If there is not enough movement of air the sail switch will not let the furnace light! I have found that a low battery will not turn the fan as fast as needed for the switch to work..... If it worked and now does not work again... I think it could be low battery or maybe time for a new fan....
I can hear the sail switch click just after the fan starts to blow, I also hooked up a continuity checker to the sail switch. I am 100% sure it is working. Also I have the A/S plugged into 120 volt source so the power converter is putting out plenty of power. I have a new board on order, but will check the connections on the existing board tonight.


I noticed there is a small light (clear bulb) on the board, but I never see it light up at all!

Thanks - Derek
__________________
Operation "SAVE RUDY" Strike Team (Associate Member)
dnrtheil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 10:08 AM   #9
4 Rivet Member
 
kennethowens's Avatar
 
1975 Argosy 24
Malakoff , Texas
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 490
Can you try one of those long matches. If a match will
light it....then the striker(function / location) would be
next.
__________________
kennethowens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 10:35 AM   #10
rbr
2 Rivet Member
 
rbr's Avatar
 
2004 28' Safari
Danville , Virginia
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 50
Have you pulled out the valve & burner unit? I had a similar problem and found mud dauber nests around the burner, impeding airflow enough to prevent ignition while everything else was working properly. Works great after cleaning.
__________________
Bruce Robillard
Danville, Va.
rbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 12:33 PM   #11
4 Rivet Member
 
dnrtheil's Avatar
 
1964 24' Tradewind
Portage , Michigan
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 332
Images: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by kennethowens View Post
Can you try one of those long matches. If a match will
light it....then the striker(function / location) would be
next.
The combustion fan blows too much air to keep a match lit plus I am afraid to even try a long lighter, thinking the flame will shoot out the small hole (where the electrode is installed) like a jet engine. I can smell LP gas, so I am pretty sure it's getting gas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbr View Post
Have you pulled out the valve & burner unit? I had a similar problem and found mud dauber nests around the burner, impeding airflow enough to prevent ignition while everything else was working properly. Works great after cleaning.
I have had the burner out as well as the gas supply line, there is a small nut with a small hole at the end of the supply line where it enters the burner, that was removed also, both were cleaned. When it does light the burner lights evenly. I have not removed the gas supply line from the valve, either before of after the valve.

Thanks - Derek

P.S. does anybody have a video of a good working electrode?
__________________
Operation "SAVE RUDY" Strike Team (Associate Member)
dnrtheil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 02:54 PM   #12
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
vinstream's Avatar
 
1962 19' Globetrotter
1963 19' Globetrotter
1961 19' Globetrotter
Wheat Ridge , Colorado
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 624
Images: 2
I ran into this only one time so it's a bit of a long shot.... You could have bad gas or slug build up in your gas line! It is caused in old systems (1964) that have water in the main line, the water that turns into a slug will let some gas by but not enough to long use. The way to check is disconnect the line at the heater and look for the slug... Its a long shot but one more thing to check out!
__________________
www.VINSTREAM.com
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
WBCCI # 1962
Instagram #Vinstream
vinstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 07:45 AM   #13
4 Rivet Member
 
dnrtheil's Avatar
 
1964 24' Tradewind
Portage , Michigan
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 332
Images: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinstream View Post
I ran into this only one time so it's a bit of a long shot.... You could have bad gas or slug build up in your gas line! It is caused in old systems (1964) that have water in the main line, the water that turns into a slug will let some gas by but not enough to long use. The way to check is disconnect the line at the heater and look for the slug... Its a long shot but one more thing to check out!
My gas lines are all new, they were installed last fall. Everything involved with gas delivery is new except for the tanks. I was wondering if it was possible to get bad LP gas, but every other gas appliance works just fine right now.

Take Care - Derek
__________________
Operation "SAVE RUDY" Strike Team (Associate Member)
dnrtheil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 08:52 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,814
Images: 12
Have you cracked the gas line to ensure you have gas at the heater? The fact that all the other gas appliances work is no indication that gas is at the heater. If a slug of air, and now that you say you had all the line open, is in the line to the heater it will take a very long time to bleed that through using the pilot orifice.
__________________

__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me with my furnace problem PLEASE macofpei Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 22 09-22-2009 11:24 AM
furnace problem nwclassic Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 10 01-12-2007 12:15 AM
Furnace problem ddsouth Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 11 01-12-2006 06:19 PM
Furnace problem bbrackman Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 22 12-27-2004 09:01 AM
Furnace problem Paul Daugherty Airstream Motorhome Forums 20 02-19-2003 04:31 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.