Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2017, 08:49 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
2004 25' Classic
Westmount , Quebec
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 17
Atwood Furnace & DuoTherm Comfort Control issue

I own a 2004 AS Classic equipped with an Atwood 8525 IV gas furnace linked to a Duotherm Comfort Control, both of which have worked flawlessly until this season. The Comfort Control usually controls the fan, the air conditioning, the heat pump and the gas furnace. As of now, it only controls the first three and does not "see" (i.e. read) the furnace whatsoever. I've done a reset of the Comfort Control but to no avail. I've also cleaned accessible parts of the furnace and checked terminals on its circuit board. Nothing. I can't seem to find the circuit breaker. Or could it possibly be the sail switch ? (Where/how do you check these ?) Any other suggestions ? Thanks !
__________________

__________________
Daniel LOUIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2017, 10:01 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
daveswenson's Avatar
 
2012 28' International
Issaquah , Washington
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 767
There is no circuit breaker for the furnace, since it is a 12v dc controlled propane operated appliance. Have you checked the fuses?
__________________

__________________
Dave

2014 Ram 2500 CTD
Pro Pride
Centramatics
daveswenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2017, 07:10 AM   #3
1 Rivet Member
 
2004 25' Classic
Westmount , Quebec
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 17
Thanks for the information. I've been unable to find the fuses as well ...
__________________
Daniel LOUIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2017, 08:01 AM   #4
1 Rivet Member
 
2004 25' Classic
Westmount , Quebec
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 17
I have however located the bus bar under the front goucho. (see photo)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1574.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	214.1 KB
ID:	290753  
__________________
Daniel LOUIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2017, 02:24 PM   #5
2 Rivet Member

 
Vintage Kin Owner
Bathurst , New Brunswick
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 32
Images: 3
Those are self resetting 12v breakers. If they trip and do not reset themselves, you have something going to ground. Use a test light to check for the one that is tripped, if it is. Could also be a wire broke at the 12v appliance.
__________________
mrfixit51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2017, 04:00 PM   #6
"Space A" S/O Registry 11
 
2006 34' Classic S/O
Fort Worth , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 539
If Airstream did not change the DC circuit breakers after yours was built my 2006 has resettable breakers. Not automatic. They look the same. Just look real close at one end of the breaker and find the little black stud. If the breaker is tripped the stud will be extended some. Just reset it. Don't keep doing this, find the short. BTW, automatic reseting circuit breakers can be a severe fire hazard. I would avoid them at all costs. I nearly lost a TV and TT because of them. The problem is they reset automatically. With an intermittent rapidly cycling short they will eventually fail, overheat and burn. Think engine compartment fire going down a mountain grade at 65 mph. And the culprit was an automatic resetting circuit breaker for the TT battery compartment.
guskmg
__________________
guskmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2017, 06:16 AM   #7
2 Rivet Member

 
Vintage Kin Owner
Bathurst , New Brunswick
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 32
Images: 3
My experience is the automatic will not reset if the ground problem persist. They are bimetal, so when the circuit makes them hot they stay open. If left for to long they fail open. I always used quality ones for 45 yrs, never experienced a fire or major heating. Now cheap designed ones could become a problem. Manually resetting any breaker can also be a problem if exaggerated and forced.
__________________
mrfixit51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2017, 05:43 PM   #8
1 Rivet Member
 
2004 25' Classic
Westmount , Quebec
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 17
Thanks for the input. I'll take it to a qualified technician to have him take a look at it. Who knows, the problem might also not be fuse/breaker related as well.
__________________

__________________
Daniel LOUIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delay on DUOtherm control cwf Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 3 09-27-2014 09:39 PM
Duotherm Furnace replacement? EricktheSOB LP Gas, Piping, Tanks & Regulators 0 04-23-2012 10:31 AM
Can't get duotherm to acknowledge furnace... movin-in Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 4 08-19-2010 08:28 PM
19 or 23 or 25? Sleep comfort is the issue... TennisMan 2007 Safari SE 26 04-26-2007 04:55 PM
need gasket for original DuoTherm furnace KHarris Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 2 10-01-2006 05:33 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.