Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2012, 08:04 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
pickerdd's Avatar
 
1971 23' Safari
Marietta , Georgia
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 218
Armstrong AC relay and Capacitor replacement

The Armstrong AC in our '71 Safari is overloading my Honda EU3000is generator. I'm hoping that replacing the hard start capacitor and run relay in the Armstrong AC will solve the problem. I've read several threads containing how-to instructions on various forums and web sites on replacing the hard start capacitor with a Supco Cap. What about the relay next to the hard start capacitor? It's a relay, right? Has anyone replaced theirs? I've searched the forum and found info on replacing the hard start cap, but not the relay.

I pulled the start cap and relay out of the box containing both and there are no numbers on the relay. Does anyone have a part number? I'd prefer a direct fit on both as the Supco hard start cap is bigger than the current box that contains both the cap and the relay. If I use the Supco I need to either make a new box or purchase a larger box.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
- David
1971 23' Airstream Safari - "Moe"
2017 Ford F350 4x4 6.7 CCLB - Silver/Black - "Max"
pickerdd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 09:32 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,813
Images: 12
It is hard to believe that your AC could overload a 3000 watt generator. 3,000 is the start capacity of the generator what is the sustained or run rating on it? When is the generator failing, on AC start or after some run time?

What else is running off the generator, frig and convertor? When running on the generator turn the frig to gas.

If possible get a clip on amp meter and read the start and run current on the AC. If they remain the same the cap has failed. If there is a noticeable drop in current after a second or 2 the cap is good.
__________________

__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 10:07 AM   #3
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar
 
1975 25' Tradewind
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,127
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
I agree. The Air Conditioner is on a 20 amp breaker, so if it pulls more the 2400 watts it will trip.
__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 01:08 PM   #4
3 Rivet Member
 
pickerdd's Avatar
 
1971 23' Safari
Marietta , Georgia
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 218
I also agree - the AC shouldn't trip an EU3000is. That's the reason I bought this particular generator.

The only thing running besides the AC was the PD converter. Fridge was off. No lights on. No microwave in the AS. Fan (Fantastic fan) was off. Nothing else was on that I could tell.

The generator overloaded when I turned on the AC and the 20amp breaker for the AC didn't trip. Maybe the breaker is bad?

Anyway, I'm certain the original start cap is bad because there is a hole in the top of the capacitor. I replaced the original cap with the supco and the same thing happened, so I wasn't sure if it was also bad (or I somehow killed it) or the relay was bad. Figured it was safest to replace both.

I guess the other possibility is the genny is at fault. It's a little over a year old... Seems odd...
__________________
- David
1971 23' Airstream Safari - "Moe"
2017 Ford F350 4x4 6.7 CCLB - Silver/Black - "Max"
pickerdd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 01:28 PM   #5
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar
 
1975 25' Tradewind
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,127
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
What happens when you are connected to 30 amp service?

And what converter do you have...
__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 01:32 PM   #6
3 Rivet Member
 
pickerdd's Avatar
 
1971 23' Safari
Marietta , Georgia
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 218
I haven't connected it to a 30amp service since I've owned it (3 years), just the generator. I'll try to find a 30amp service locally and try it.

I have a Progressive Dynamics 9130 converter.
__________________
- David
1971 23' Airstream Safari - "Moe"
2017 Ford F350 4x4 6.7 CCLB - Silver/Black - "Max"
pickerdd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 01:40 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,813
Images: 12
If you can't get a clip on amp meter to test the current being drawn it is hard to pin the problem down.

I really doubt it is the AC as noted above the 20 amp breaker would trip with current above 17 amps. Breakers are designed to trip at 80% of rating far below your generators capacity.
__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 01:45 PM   #8
3 Rivet Member
 
pickerdd's Avatar
 
1971 23' Safari
Marietta , Georgia
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 218
Do you think the problem could be the converter?
__________________
- David
1971 23' Airstream Safari - "Moe"
2017 Ford F350 4x4 6.7 CCLB - Silver/Black - "Max"
pickerdd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 02:17 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,813
Images: 12
Just unplug the converter if you think it is an issue.
__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 02:22 PM   #10
3 Rivet Member
 
pickerdd's Avatar
 
1971 23' Safari
Marietta , Georgia
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 218
Thanks, I'll try disconnecting the converter. I'll find a 30amp connection this coming weekend and report back the results.
__________________
- David
1971 23' Airstream Safari - "Moe"
2017 Ford F350 4x4 6.7 CCLB - Silver/Black - "Max"
pickerdd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 09:30 PM   #11
3 Rivet Member
 
pickerdd's Avatar
 
1971 23' Safari
Marietta , Georgia
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 218
Ok, i have a working ac and Honda eu3000is generator. I replaced the original start capacitor with a Supco SPP6E hard start capacitor and the ac works correctly and the generator powers the ac perfectly. The first replacement capacitor i used was a Supco SPP6 not the SPP6E Evidently the non-e version is a problem with the Armstrong ac.

With the correct capacitor installed the ac starts up and the generator speeds up to send enough voltage to the ac then returns to its previous speed and everyone is happy. I cycled the ac a few times by turning it off and on within a minute and it continued to start correctly. The SPP6E also fit correctly in the box with the run capacitor whereas the other one was too long to fit correctly in the box. win-win!

I also suspect that the 20 amp breaker for the ac is faulty as it didn't trip and the generator overloaded. I will replace all the breakers in the trailer as they are the original breakers. I also plan to replace the original run capacitor.

It continues to amaze me that a 41 year old ac blows really cold air.

Thanks for your help.
__________________
- David
1971 23' Airstream Safari - "Moe"
2017 Ford F350 4x4 6.7 CCLB - Silver/Black - "Max"
pickerdd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2017, 12:07 PM   #12
1 Rivet Member
 
1969 25' Tradewind
Port Washington , New York
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 19
Blog Entries: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by pickerdd View Post
Ok, i have a working ac and Honda eu3000is generator. I replaced the original start capacitor with a Supco SPP6E hard start capacitor and the ac works correctly and the generator powers the ac perfectly. The first replacement capacitor i used was a Supco SPP6 not the SPP6E Evidently the non-e version is a problem with the Armstrong ac.
Hello,

Can you tell me which Supco SPP6E capacitor you used? Amazon offers 3 options, with different horsepower ranges...

I'm working with a contractor to repair the Armstrong unit on my 69' TW and after initially working, I've since blown 2 capacitors and we're trying to troubleshoot. For anyone with a better understanding of capacitors than I have, we used an Armadillo brand start capacitor 1055, 21-25/330.
__________________

__________________
"Eternal vigilance is the price of success."

www.littlegreenairstream.com


@LittleGreenAir | Facebook | Instagram
LittleGreen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.