Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2014, 10:15 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
Dallas , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 46
Amps Required For Suburban NT30SP - interesting problem

Hello,

I recently installed a NT30sp. I'm currently trying to hook up the 12V circuit but having a bit of difficulty. When hooked up to my trailer's 12V circuits, the blower motor does not kick on and the firing sequence does not start. However, when I hook up to a 12v 50amp battery charger, it kicks on and the start procedure works perfectly. I know I have old batteries and an old Univolt. They'll be replaced soon. Could I not be getting enough amperage? Ideas welcome.
__________________

__________________
66replica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 10:25 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,139
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
Where are you connecting the charger? To the battery?
Are you sure the Univolt is working?
If you are connecting the charger to the battery cables and it works. That pretty much eliminates any bad connections, fuses etc.
have you checked the voltage coming out of the Univolt?
Voltage at the battery?
Do the lights work in the coach when you are on shore power? Do they go out or dim when you try to run the furnace?


Sent from my iPod touch using Airstream Forums
__________________

__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 10:28 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member
 
Dallas , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 46
Great questions!

The Univolt works. My Fantastic Fans and LED lights all work great.

I'm connecting the 12v 55amp direct to the furnace.

When the trailer 12v system is plugged in, I get 13+ volts at the red 12v wire and the two blue thermostat wires as expected. I also confirmed my furnace ground is good (continuity between ground wire and ground on trailer body).
__________________
66replica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 11:37 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,139
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
I would suggest you check to make sure the fuses are good and they are tight in the holders.
Old fuses can smolder internally. Which means that all that is left connecting fuse element to the cap is a carbon trail. In these circumstances you will read voltage with the meter because it is high impedance and doesn't draw much current.
Make sure the fuse holders are tight to the main buss and that they are tight on the wire terminal.
I would replace all of the old fuses in the Univolt with new fuses. Making sure the connections are tight. Then connect the charger to the battery and check for voltage.
It sounds to me like there is a problem with the circuit feeding the power to the furnace. It could be a simple matter of a bad connection.


Sent from my iPod touch using Airstream Forums
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 12:42 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,591
Measure the voltage at the furnace under load, that is when it is trying to run. If it drops lower than about 11 volts, it will not fire properly. Measure the voltage at the hot and ground wire as they come into the furnace, no where else.

I suspect you have a bad connection somewhere, or a bad fuse or ground. You could have some issues with the battery or univolt, but probably it is somewhere else.

When I re did my Argosy, I ran a new #12 wire hot and negative lines directly from the fuse panel to the furnace and another set to the water pump. I put each on their own fuse too. That made a world of difference with both of them
__________________
idroba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2014, 09:34 AM   #6
2 Rivet Member
 
Dallas , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 46
My converter was the issue. Once that was fixed, the furnace kicked on as expected.
__________________

__________________
66replica is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
amps required to run Dometic A/C Barry Parkof Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 19 05-28-2016 07:24 AM
Suburban Furnace NT30SP gretaseyr56 Airstream Classifieds 0 07-22-2014 07:16 PM
Suburban NT30SP Hot Ductwork boilermaker Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 2 05-07-2014 11:34 AM
Where to buy Suburban NT30SP furnace Lumatic Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 10 11-29-2012 11:09 AM
15 Amps vs 30 Amps billida1 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 8 10-01-2010 09:37 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.