Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-04-2003, 05:42 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

Question AIRCONDITIONER Problem

I'm new to the AS trailers & I'm still learning about the ins & outs of them. My most recent problem is my AC unit - the fan will run forever but the AC when its on will run for 3-5 mins, then shut off. I'm not blowing fuses-what could it be? The filters are clean on the unit also.
Chitown AirStreamers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 05:44 PM   #2
Just a member

1978 28' Argosy 28
Lutz , Florida
Send a message via AIM to thenewkid64 Send a message via Yahoo to thenewkid64
Need a bit more info.............

What brand, is it original, etc. Then we can help. Different brands have diffrent "known troubles" and there are some units that can be serviced instead of having to replace it.
WBCCI #5501 AIR # 49
-------------------------
1978 Argosy 28 foot Motorhome

Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something. -- Plato

thenewkid64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 05:45 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member

DUOTHERM
Old 07-04-2003, 05:48 PM   #4
3 Rivet Member

Duo Therm 600 Penguin
Old 07-04-2003, 05:57 PM   #5
Just a member

1978 28' Argosy 28
Lutz , Florida
If the compressor is coming on, running for 3-5 min and cuts off, does it come back on after a wait?

Does it blow cold while the compressor is running?

It sounds as if your thermostat is malfunctioning, or that the compressor is struggling and is shutting down to protect it self.

Are you using a 30 amp cord and a 30 amp outlet? Small cords can cause this type of problem due to lower voltage and not being able to pass the AMPS, the unit will shut down the compressor to stop from burning itself up.
WBCCI #5501 AIR # 49

Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something. -- Plato

Old 07-04-2003, 06:58 PM   #6