Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2009, 04:46 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
werpknarly's Avatar
 
1980 31' International
there , Wisconsin
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25
Images: 4
air con drawing 30 amps...

the armstrong 14 air-con in our 1980 international is giving us fits..

after about 2 years of non-camping we set out for the 'up-north', 2 miles to a local campground to breakin our new dog to the camping life, we wanted to be close to home if it turned into a train wreck with the new doggie (dog is doing great)

we have 115V of power in the box, with the air-con on or off.

it draws 30 amps while it runs for 1-2 min... the wire in the box does get warm.

any ideas of where to start?

any good links to instructional pictures for opening this baby up?

thanks
joe
__________________

__________________
werpknarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 05:27 PM   #2
More than one rivet loose
 
thecatsandi's Avatar

 
Currently Looking...
Keymar , Maryland
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by werpknarly View Post
the armstrong 14 air-con in our 1980 international is giving us fits..

after about 2 years of non-camping we set out for the 'up-north', 2 miles to a local campground to breakin our new dog to the camping life, we wanted to be close to home if it turned into a train wreck with the new doggie (dog is doing great)

we have 115V of power in the box, with the air-con on or off.

it draws 30 amps while it runs for 1-2 min... the wire in the box does get warm.

any ideas of where to start?

any good links to instructional pictures for opening this baby up?

thanks
joe
bearer of bad news. replace it. are you plugging into a 30A outlet?
__________________

__________________
Michelle TAC MT-0
Sarah, Snowball

Looking for a 1962 Flying Cloud

thecatsandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 06:38 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,809
Images: 12
My first question is how do you know you have 115 volts? Low voltage will cause amperage to go up. Check to voltage with the AC on with a good meter. Anything below 110 will be a problem.

If you are above 110 while the AC in on refer to the above post.
__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 07:47 PM   #4
2 Rivet Member
 
werpknarly's Avatar
 
1980 31' International
there , Wisconsin
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25
Images: 4
-yes we checked, 115V at box, a/c on or off
-yes, 30A plug
-per meter, its drawing 29.5 to 30.5 amps while running.
-takes about 30 sec to 2 min to trip the 20amp braker

-Junk it? we do most of our own A/C work.. just would like some tips where to start..
__________________
werpknarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 09:42 PM   #5
2 Rivet Member
 
werpknarly's Avatar
 
1980 31' International
there , Wisconsin
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25
Images: 4
BIT of info left out.... the trailers been under a tree for 2 years and i spent 2 hours pressure washing off all the nasty bits.. could i have done something?

dont forget, it pulls 30amp from start up. Not after its run a bit

and i dont hear any nuts or squirel parts rattling around in any cages
__________________
werpknarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 09:57 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,809
Images: 12
One more thing you can check if you can find a diagram for the unit. Does it have a starting capacitor or starting winding that may have failed. If not it is not worth replacing the compressor even if the labor is free.
__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 10:08 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
NevadaGeo's Avatar
 
1978 31' Excella 500
Genoa , Nevada
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,305
My A/C specifically says you need 30 amps to run it, at start up anyway. If you don't have 30 amps it quits pretty soon if I don't realize it and shut it off before.
If you didn't have this trouble before, possibly you were lucky with better power then.
Oh, you say it takes 2 minutes to trip your 20 AMP BREAKER. Maybe you need to replace your 20 amp breaker if it will run 30 amps before tripping.
__________________
I admit to being powerless over housecleaning and social niceities
Airforums 22655 and now, WBCCI 22655

NevadaGeo
NevadaGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 10:25 PM   #8
2 Rivet Member
 
werpknarly's Avatar
 
1980 31' International
there , Wisconsin
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25
Images: 4
ive owned it for over 10 years, first time it blew the 20amp breaker.

i swapped the 20 amp breakers in the box, still didnt work, which i would guess if its drawing 30 amps.

maybe its stuck in startup mode.....
__________________
werpknarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 09:58 AM   #9
More than one rivet loose
 
thecatsandi's Avatar

 
Currently Looking...
Keymar , Maryland
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by werpknarly View Post
ive owned it for over 10 years, first time it blew the 20amp breaker.

i swapped the 20 amp breakers in the box, still didnt work, which i would guess if its drawing 30 amps.

maybe its stuck in startup mode.....
30A required for use is awful high. My AC uses 12A running. When it was in a rotor locked start it tripped 30A breakers. If it is original I would seriously consider replacing it.
__________________
Michelle TAC MT-0
Sarah, Snowball

Looking for a 1962 Flying Cloud

thecatsandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 11:52 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
Gene's Avatar
 
2008 25' Safari FB SE
Grand Junction , Colorado
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,840
You asked if the pressure washer could have damaged the A/C. Sure it could if you had the pressure set high and the water was forced under the cover. Best thing to do is take off the cover and look around for problems. It could be something simple and obvious, or not. It could be a coincidence.

30 amps at start up may or may not be normal—I don't know, but it sounds high—but it should drop down to something well below 20 amps once it's started and that shouldn't take long. Motors and compressors start up at high amperage draw. Breakers are designed to handle that—they are slow blow units. It could be a mechanical problem (fan), fried compressor, wiring, etc. High pressure water might have caused something since it was the last thing to have been done before you turned it on, so diagnosis starts there.

A/C's last a long time, but it is 29 years old if it's the OEM unit, and that seems pretty good for an A/C.

Welcome to the Forum. Hopefully the answer will surface here.

Gene
__________________
Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 08:13 PM   #11
2 Rivet Member
 
werpknarly's Avatar
 
1980 31' International
there , Wisconsin
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25
Images: 4
looks like if im lucky, its a capacitor or more likily the starter relay.

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f427...ide-46756.html

leaves two questions....
-do i go in from the bottom or the top? if top, how???
-where do i find parts if these test bad?
__________________
werpknarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 07:52 PM   #12
2 Rivet Member
 
werpknarly's Avatar
 
1980 31' International
there , Wisconsin
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25
Images: 4
no luck.. cap. tested ok, changed relay... still no go... starts, pulls 27 amps, trips breaker.

any ideas? we going camping next thrusday
__________________
werpknarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 09:49 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
garry's Avatar
 
1969 31' Sovereign
Broken Arrow , Oklahoma
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,362
Images: 7
You might check where the 3 wires go into the compressor you may have forced water in there or you may have a spider nest causing a resistive short.
__________________
Garry
garry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 10:09 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
richinny's Avatar
 
2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,122
what is the draw in fan only mode? do the cages spin freely?
__________________

__________________
Ricky
2012 F150 Super Crew 5-1/2' bed Ecoboost 4x4 3.73 elec. lock diff. Propride hitch
give life. kidney & pancreas transplant 9/9/06
Ingrid-my unofficial '"World's Oldest Streamer" 1909-2008 R.I.P.
richinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMPS 20? 30? 50? Which One Do I Want? Frank&Mike Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 7 06-24-2009 08:35 PM
Air con Installation Dannear Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 3 05-23-2006 04:04 PM
Overlander CAD drawing Cornfred Interior Restoration Forum 8 09-12-2005 07:24 PM
Posting Drawing from MS Paint...too big jaco Forum Admin, News and Member Account Info 2 02-08-2004 10:30 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.