Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2009, 11:44 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
1992 35' Airstream 350
central tx , Texas
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
AC one or the other????????

Hi, i'm Lefounta: I am new to this site and real new to airstreams, this past February.
I have a 1992 350LE motorcoach. I am still working the bugs out of the "everything on it works great" motorhome.
When plugged into 120 v 30amp shoreline only one AC will work at a time. It has two airconditioners, front and rear. A switch of the common light witch variety in a cabinet above the sink toggles between front and rear ACs. When the generator is in operation, boths ACs will try o come on, if one is not carefull to have one switched off, and bog down and kill the generator.
My question then is: Isn't it suposed to be the other way around, that both ACs would run with the shorline plugged in and one or the other with the genset running?
__________________

__________________
lefounta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 11:56 AM   #2
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer
 
Inland RV Center, In's Avatar
 
Corona , California
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 16,499
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by lefounta View Post
Hi, i'm Lefounta: I am new to this site and real new to airstreams, this past February.
I have a 1992 350LE motorcoach. I am still working the bugs out of the "everything on it works great" motorhome.
When plugged into 120 v 30amp shoreline only one AC will work at a time. It has two airconditioners, front and rear. A switch of the common light witch variety in a cabinet above the sink toggles between front and rear ACs. When the generator is in operation, boths ACs will try o come on, if one is not carefull to have one switched off, and bog down and kill the generator.
My question then is: Isn't it suposed to be the other way around, that both ACs would run with the shorline plugged in and one or the other with the genset running?
They way the AC's are working, is correct.

2 AC's cannot properly run on a 30 amp circuit, not even if just the Univolt is running.

The second AC, will run fine, if you crank up the generator.

That's how Airstream designed it to work.

Andy
__________________

__________________
Inland RV Center, In is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 12:29 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
easyride's Avatar
 
1977 27' Overlander
1973 27' Overlander
1963 19' Globetrotter
Naples , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,259
Images: 1
I would think with 2 ACs you would have a 50 amp. service,each ac is pulling close to 20 amps at start up. Dave
__________________
easyride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 12:30 PM   #4
3 Rivet Member
 
crestonrv's Avatar
 
1948 16' Wee Wind
1964 26' Overlander
2007 19' Bambi
crossville , Tennessee
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 172
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 5
how many watts is gen set? only 1 a/c on 30 amp shore unless energy managment system is installed on unit. ems will monitor amp draw of loads and stall 2nd compressor untill 1rst is running. also will shed non essential loads to stay within capacity.
if you have 5000 watt or larger gen set it would normally be wired so that primary circuit (30 amp) feeds coach main. secondary corcuit would go to aux a/c only.
__________________
crestonrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 12:46 PM   #5
1 Rivet Member
 
1992 35' Airstream 350
central tx , Texas
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
It is definately 30amp. The genset is an Onan 6500
__________________
lefounta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 01:09 PM   #6
3 Rivet Member
 
crestonrv's Avatar
 
1948 16' Wee Wind
1964 26' Overlander
2007 19' Bambi
crossville , Tennessee
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 172
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 5
put switch 2 front a/c then both will run on gen still only 1 on shore.
__________________
crestonrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 01:12 PM   #7
3 Rivet Member
 
crestonrv's Avatar
 
1948 16' Wee Wind
1964 26' Overlander
2007 19' Bambi
crossville , Tennessee
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 172
Images: 7
Blog Entries: 5
if you have switch in front a/c possition and still can't run both a/cs on the gen then you have a problem with either the gen or 1 of the a/cs as 6500 watt onan should handilly run both.
__________________

__________________
crestonrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.