Old 06-21-2005, 09:32 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Post AC for my Argosy

Dear Forum Members, I have a 1976 Argosy 22 foot trailer with no AC. I have looked into buying an air conditioning unit but they all say that a standard 14" x 14" opening is needed in the roof for installation of the roof unit. I am measuring about 12" x 12" on the opening of my roof vent. Did the Argosies come with smaller size roof vents when air conditioners did not come with them or am I measuring wrong. Will I have to have a larger opening put in my Argosy in order to have an air conditioning unit installed. Any advice on this problem would be greatly appreciated. Sincerely Ray

Old 06-21-2005, 11:54 PM   #2
Site Team

1964 26' Overlander
1964 19' Globetrotter
Eastern , Washington
I'm no expert here but - our argosy has a vent and an ac.

I suspect that if you want to install ac, you have to make a new hole.... I'd also bet that some kind of extra support is needed along the edges of that hole.... has anyone here done this?

Let's have a polishing party: I'll supply the trailer and buffing supplies. BYOB (bring your own buffer)

AirForums Custom Search
Janet H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2005, 07:26 AM   #3
Well Preserved

1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Rivet been there, done that

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janet
I'm no expert here but - our argosy has a vent and an ac.

I suspect that if you want to install ac, you have to make a new hole.... I'd also bet that some kind of extra support is needed along the edges of that hole.... has anyone here done this?
Our Argosy 20 had the rear vent removed, and it was replaced with an A/C unit. The Argosy 22 had an A/C unit installed in the center vent hole, the hole in yours may need to be enlarged. New air conditioners are designed to clamp the roof between its two halves, so you will need to take a 2x4, and cut it to match the contour of the roof. You should also find wiring for your new A/C in or near the center vent area.