Old 08-28-2003, 08:19 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Cool AC filter maintenence

I'm new at this but last March I bought a 1978 31' Excella and
located it on a friends 1/2 acre in Rivetrside , Ca . We both lost our homes in the Williams forest fire last sept. in the Angeles National forest and had lived there for some 27 years . My friend lives in the modest home we remodeled and I reside in the Excella
500 with my old dog.
The problem I'm having is with my A/C it's just not cutting the mustard as most days are in the low 100's here second only to Palm Springs and Death Valley. We've solved the amp (30) issue
by running a separate 30 amp circut #8 wire in the ground with the proper outlet for the trailer plug etc. I've cleaned the sponge filter I found on the inside under the cover but I read that the Duo-Therm has 2 filters . Now here's the question : Do I go outside with a ladder to the top and removve the shroud that covers the unit , and will I find the possible problem under that ?

Old 08-28-2003, 10:53 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1969 31' Sovereign
Broken Arrow , Oklahoma
Sorry to hear about your loss.
I don't know about the second filter, mine ( Armstrong ) has only the one inside.
Are you parked in the shade ?? Have awnings ??
I would call the mfg. or visit their web site before taking the unit apart. It just may not be big enough for the sq.ft.

Garry

Old 08-28-2003, 12:35 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

Hey Gary ,
Since my last post i removed the shroud only to find that the