Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2005, 12:08 AM   #15
3 Rivet Member
 
desi arnaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 183
a/c

could it be the contacts on your a/c switch? if you hold the swich down will it stay on? coul be you just need a new a/c unit?
__________________

__________________
desi arnaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 08:45 AM   #16
Patriotic
 
Chuck's Avatar

 
1973 23' Safari
North of Boston , Massachusetts
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,533
Images: 260
Ipso: did you check the link that I posted earlier? take the cover off your a/c panel, and look....if you see rusty stuff and/or green gunk (corroding copper) all over the place, that's probably your problem. you'd need to go in there to replace the breaker, anyway. and yeah, they have them at HD; its a regular household circuit breaker, just like you might have in your house. my trailer has 2 20 amp circuits: one is dedicated to the a/c, the other runs everything else.
__________________

__________________
Air:291
Wbcci: 3752
'73 Safari 23'
'00 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 QC
Chuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 11:11 PM   #17
Rivet Master
 
Tinsel Loaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 790
The last place we stayed at the voltage was 109 and it did blow the 30 amp breaker.
I cleaned the plug and the socket contacts and splade the pins for a better purchase.
Ii never blew the breaker again
__________________
Tinsel Loaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2005, 11:33 PM   #18
4 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 307
desi arnaz wrote:
> coul be you just need a new a/c unit?


That's it.... I replaced the breaker, which was the problem, as it turns out and the AC does not cut off anymore.

However, I think the compressor is going out. It's just blowing air which isn't cold. I think this is the original, 20 year old unit, so I suppose it did good, considering there is only a 2 year warranty on these Colman units.

Any idea if the above is true, and if so, what's a good place to get a Colman AC unit? Is it possible to find a used one?
__________________
Justice - When you get what you deserve. Mercy - When you don't get what you deserve
Grace - When you get what you don't deserve
ipso_facto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2005, 11:46 PM   #19
3 Rivet Member
 
desi arnaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 183
you may just need freon? expensive,but cheaper than a new unit. you can have it converted to a new coolent for less than $100 and the new coolant is only a few bucks a pound instead of $30 per pound.
__________________
desi arnaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2005, 09:44 AM   #20
4 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 307
I had the same thought actually.
But what if I add the freon and it leaks out then it is a waste of money. I had that happen to a fridge.
__________________
Justice - When you get what you deserve. Mercy - When you don't get what you deserve
Grace - When you get what you don't deserve
ipso_facto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2005, 10:03 AM   #21
Well Preserved

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipso_facto
desi arnaz wrote:
> coul be you just need a new a/c unit?

Any idea if the above is true, and if so, what's a good place to get a Coleman AC unit? Is it possible to find a used one?
You can get a used one, but you will be getting the same troubles you have now, without the benefit of a warranty. It is better to get a new one, if you can afford it. As far as a "deal", just check the net for specials, our friends at Camping World are letting them go pretty reasonably right now.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2005, 10:05 AM   #22
Well Preserved

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipso_facto
I had the same thought actually.
But what if I add the freon and it leaks out then it is a waste of money. I had that happen to a fridge.
It is a sealed system. If freon leaks out, it means there is a leak, and the replacement freon will leak out as well, unless you fix the problem first.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2005, 10:07 AM   #23
3 Rivet Member
 
desi arnaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 183
they can check for leaks with a sniffer before going so far as filling her up. i would have her changed over anyway....
__________________
desi arnaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2005, 10:20 AM   #24
4 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 307
So how do I dermine if I just need freon or the compressor is not working?

I had an electrical/AC guy look at it. He said that the compressor is cycling between on and off and that's what burned out the breaker. Late last night was the first time I was able to run the AC after replacing the breaker, and indeed, holding my hand to it some minutes it was cold, others, just air. Also I could hear different tones from it.

Well, he said that there is a 50/50 chance it will recover from it or die completely and I should know very shortly, and the latter is what seems to happen. I turned it on this morning and it's just air, not even intervals of cool.

Any advice on how to proceed, what's a good place to get these Colman units, are used ones a possibiliy or not worth messing with. I found one place that has them for $375 13.5K BTU.
__________________
Justice - When you get what you deserve. Mercy - When you don't get what you deserve
Grace - When you get what you don't deserve
ipso_facto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2005, 10:21 AM   #25
4 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 307
overlander63 wrote:

> You can get a used one, but you will be getting the same troubles you have now, without the benefit of a warranty. It is better to get a new one, if you can afford it.


That makes sense.. I will go with a new unit, most cost-effective. Just need to find one.
__________________
Justice - When you get what you deserve. Mercy - When you don't get what you deserve
Grace - When you get what you don't deserve
ipso_facto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2005, 10:24 AM   #26
4 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 307
http://www.pplmotorhomes.com/parts/r...onditioner.htm
__________________
Justice - When you get what you deserve. Mercy - When you don't get what you deserve
Grace - When you get what you don't deserve
ipso_facto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2005, 11:08 AM   #27
4 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 307
would the above 13.5K BTU unit work in my 86 excella?
__________________
Justice - When you get what you deserve. Mercy - When you don't get what you deserve
Grace - When you get what you don't deserve
ipso_facto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2005, 11:26 AM   #28
Well Preserved

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipso_facto
would the above 13.5K BTU unit work in my 86 excella?
It will, but may be inadequate for very hot days. A 15K would be better. Our 26' has a 13K Coleman, and in the sun, on warm days, it doesn't keep the trailer comfortable.
__________________

__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
zip-dee doo dah day nettepdx Awnings 17 10-21-2004 06:51 PM
The More I Polish...The Lower My Standards are Getting !! MileHigh Cleaning, Stripping & Polishing 49 06-08-2004 01:06 PM
Fridge Cuts out When I Start the Engine swebster General Motorhome Topics 7 05-19-2004 12:24 PM
Generator cuts off ALANSD Airstream Motorhome Forums 7 08-03-2003 09:36 AM
Yukon AC cuts out towing.... dscluchfc On The Road... 10 07-27-2002 12:01 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.