Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2006, 12:37 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
1992 35' Airstream 350
grenada , Mississippi
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 6

anyone know a quick fix for my 92 350 le.would like for both ac's to work at the same time while plugged to 30 amps.
jerry 22 over par

jerry220ver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 01:22 PM   #2
Silvertwinkie's Avatar
2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10,326
Jerry, I'm gonna go out on a limb here and guess that you're gonna have to post some additional details about what your talking about for folks to be able to help. You have nothing in your profile that would also suggest what you have.......

You talking motorhome? What kind?
What is the dash A/C not doing (if that's what we're talking about)...somewhat cold, totally dead, just blows hot air, etc?

The devil is in the details.

Computers manufactured by companies such as IBM, Compaq and millions of others are by far the most popular with about 70 million machines in use worldwide. Macintosh fans note that cockroaches are far more numerous than humans and that numbers alone do not denote a higher life form. -NY Times 11/91
Silvertwinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 05:55 PM   #3
. , .
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,812
hi jerry and welcome to airforum'n

twink....i think he has 3 a/cs counting the dash unit....

my mo ho only had one roof air.....

seems that in the moho threads this has been need more than 30 amps to have both roof ac on at the same time...

seems i recall some solutions are set up as 50 amp while other are 2 separate outlets...a 30 and a 20 just for the rear ac unit...and only the front is wired into genset?

read some of the old moho threads.....

or you will have to wait for the moho heads to jump it...they are all busy trying to figure out that hole in the dash!

2airishuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 06:14 PM   #4
4 Rivet Member
bill benton's Avatar
1991 34' Excella
Mansfield , Texas
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 490
It was a while back. but I remember one of the rv sites had a relay, or something similar that would let you run 2 ac;s at the same time. It would allow only one compressor to start at a time.
bill benton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 04:43 PM   #5
1 Rivet Member
1991 35' Airstream 350
Harvest , Alabama
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Images: 5
You have to turn the generator on and flip the switch above the sink to the front unit. The generator will provide power to the back unit directly so the switch needs to be on the front unit. There is a relay that should trip in less than a minute and both units should be getting power.
dssauburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 05:20 PM   #6
3 Rivet Member
wascobob's Avatar
wasco , Oregon
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 103
HELLO JERRY---Motorhome head here!

I think that if you look in your manual, you will find that the 30 amp shore power will provide enough juice for one AC only. That is the way they come from the factory (assuming that your moho is similar to mine). You should find a switch that will allow you to select the front OR rear AC, but not both at the same time. According to my books, the only way to run both ACS', is to run them with your genset and that is the way mine works.......Anything beyond that would require modification!!!

Hope this helps---Bob
1988 Classic 290 motorhome
wascobob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 07:35 PM   #7
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
lewster's Avatar
Currently Looking...
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,796
Originally Posted by jerry220ver
anyone know a quick fix for my 92 350 le.would like for both ac's to work at the same time while plugged to 30 amps.
jerry 22 over par
Hi Jerry,

As said previously, there are 2 ways to run both roof units while on 30 amp shore power. One is to run one on shore and the other on generator (if your coach is wired for this) in essence providing more than 30 amps to run both simultaneously and the other is to re-wire your coach for 50 amps. A straight 30 amp connection is insufficient to power both roof A/C units at the same time.
Lew Farber...RVIA Certified Master Tech...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2006, 08:07 PM   #8
Rivet Master
garry's Avatar
1969 31' Sovereign
Broken Arrow , Oklahoma
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,331
Images: 7
50 amp for 2 aircond

Here is what I did to run 50amp RV hook up to 30 amp RV and not worry about the GFCI tripping

Made a 50 amp male pig tail wired into a "2 slot breaker" breaker box (3ft long, 8 gage).
L1 (one side black wire) to right side main in on breaker box.
L2 (other side red wire) to left side main in on breaker box.
Neutral to Neutral buss and Ground to ground buss.

I made up 2 female pig tails one with a 30 amp RV plug 2 ft long (10 gage).
One with a standard 120 VAC household outlet 2 ft long (12 gage).
The RV female pig tail was wired to the 30 amp breaker.
The household outlet wired to the 20 amp breaker.
Both 20 amp & 30 amp pig tails neutral & ground wires to breaker box neutral & ground buss.

What I now have is a 50 amp RV plug with 2 outlets each on their own breaker.

In the generator compartment I followed the wire from the 20 amp breaker on the generator to the junction box and disconnected the wire at the breaker. I then installed a 20 amp female plug on the wire I just disconnected.(On my RV this wire goes directly to the rear AC by passing the transfer switch).
At the generator I ran a wire from the 20 amp breaker into a 120 VAC outlet I mounted on the wall in the generator compartment.

What I now have is the generator feeding 120 vac to a standard household outlet protected by the 20 amp generator breaker.

On generator power I just plug the rear AC (now on a standard male plug) into the 120vac outlet I installed in the generator compartment and run 2 air conditioners when running off the generator.

At the campground if I want to run 2 AC’s I plug my 50 amp plug to the CG 50 amp pedestal
Plug my RV 30 amp plug into the 30 amp pigtail outlet and run a drop cord from the 120vac pigtail back to the generator compartment and plug the rear AC into the drop cord.
I haven't had a chance to test it yet so proceed at your own risk.

If you are not comfortable working with electric stuff this is not a project for you. There are similar devices for sale at camper stores.


Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	50 amp.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	40.7 KB
ID:	25611  

garry is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.