Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-25-2011, 09:10 PM   #1

1975 31' Sovereign
Benton , Arkansas
A/C troubles

Hello guys, newbie here. I'm having troubles with my A/C. I bought this camper 3 summers ago in fair shape. I brought it home and did all the cleaning to it and repairs, and when I had it hooked up to the house the a/c would freeze you out. I took it to deer camp and hooked the genny up the first time and the compressor won't kick on. It's a 5500 watt, and the fan blows, but there's no cold air. Any ideas? I wouldn't think it wouldn't be much, because it was working great the days before when plugged into the house. Any help is greatly appreciated, I'm a pretty good mechanic, but I don't know much about a/c units.
pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 09:19 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

1975 31' Sovereign
Brownsville , Texas
I have never used one on an Airstream, but they do make something called a hard start capacitor. If your not going to call a pro, that is where I would start (after checking all wiring). Also, I'm sure you checked this, but did you check the thermostat?
rkuhns956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 09:24 PM   #3

1975 31' Sovereign
Benton , Arkansas
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkuhns956 View Post
I have never used one on an Airstream, but they do make something called a hard start capacitor. If your not going to call a pro, that is where I would start (after checking all wiring). Also, I'm sure you checked this, but did you check the thermostat?
Honestly, I don't think there is a thermostat. The switch says fan on, low cool and high cool, I think?
Old 07-25-2011, 09:32 PM   #4
Site Team

2002 25' Safari
Dewey , Arizona