Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2012, 11:48 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
adwriter73's Avatar
 
1978 31' Sovereign
Dallas , Texas
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 352
Images: 9
A/C thermostat not coming on

New Dometic A/C with the Climate Control panel. Worked fine last Summer. Tried to turn it on for the first time this year and nothing. Would it be the thermostat or the actual A/C? I wonder that because there's just a phone cable connection. Is that a power supply? Local Airstream shop installed this, so I may just take it back to them. Should still be under warranty. But if it's one of those "oh, you just need to flip this switch" kind of things, then I'd rather save the trip...
__________________

adwriter73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 01:13 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Crusty's Avatar
 
1992 34' Excella
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 562
Images: 10
The CCC gets it's 12V power from the main unit (needed to operate). Make sure that's there, check for popped 12V breakers. Also, don't forget about the semi-hidden on/off switch at the bottom right corner.

The cable looks like a phone cable but it's not. The connector is reversed at one end compared to a phone cable.

You can perform a master reset by switching the CCC off, then hold in the top and bottom buttons while you switch the CCC to on, then release them.

FWIW, I really like my 15K heat pump over the 13.5k ac that it replaced.
__________________

__________________
Crusty
"If you come to a fork in the road, take it."
Austin, TX "Rancho Deluxe"
Crusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:10 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
richinny's Avatar
 
2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,122
how many buttons are on the CCC?
__________________
Ricky
2012 F150 Super Crew 5-1/2' bed Ecoboost 4x4 3.73 elec. lock diff. Propride hitch
give life. kidney & pancreas transplant 9/9/06
Ingrid-my unofficial '"World's Oldest Streamer" 1909-2008 R.I.P.
richinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 04:50 PM   #4
4 Rivet Member
 
adwriter73's Avatar
 
1978 31' Sovereign
Dallas , Texas
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 352
Images: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crusty View Post
The CCC gets it's 12V power from the main unit (needed to operate). Make sure that's there, check for popped 12V breakers. Also, don't forget about the semi-hidden on/off switch at the bottom right corner.

The cable looks like a phone cable but it's not. The connector is reversed at one end compared to a phone cable.

You can perform a master reset by switching the CCC off, then hold in the top and bottom buttons while you switch the CCC to on, then release them.

FWIW, I really like my 15K heat pump over the 13.5k ac that it replaced.
I remember seeing something about resetting. Going to try that. I didn't see any busted 12V fuses. The A/C power line is tapped into another line. If the reset doesn't work, then I'll check that power line. The semi-hidden switch you mention...is that the little nob that has a small guard on it? What is that? And which is the on position?
adwriter73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 05:01 PM   #5
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
The nob with the guard is a temperature sensor. The on-off switch is on the bottom of the thermostat.
__________________
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 10:25 AM   #6
4 Rivet Member
 
adwriter73's Avatar
 
1978 31' Sovereign
Dallas , Texas
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 352
Images: 9
Oh ok. I thought you were referring to a secondary on/off switch. Thanks!
adwriter73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 11:41 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
Crusty's Avatar
 
1992 34' Excella
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 562
Images: 10
Is the CCC display completely blank or is something displayed on it? If blank then you're not getting 12V to it from the ac unit, which is transmitted via the "phone" cable. Is the circuit breaker for the ac unit flipped off? What position is the on/off switch in (under the bottom right corner of the CCC)?
__________________
Crusty
"If you come to a fork in the road, take it."
Austin, TX "Rancho Deluxe"
Crusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 02:19 PM   #8
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
The CCC is to modern Airstreams what rear-end separation is to 1970s ones. Just saying.
__________________
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 02:46 PM   #9
4 Rivet Member
 
adwriter73's Avatar
 
1978 31' Sovereign
Dallas , Texas
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 352
Images: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crusty View Post
Is the CCC display completely blank or is something displayed on it? If blank then you're not getting 12V to it from the ac unit, which is transmitted via the "phone" cable. Is the circuit breaker for the ac unit flipped off? What position is the on/off switch in (under the bottom right corner of the CCC)?
It's completely blank. I've flipped all breakers to make sure they are not tripped. Checked the 12v fuse panel and all fuses are fine. Flipped the on/off switch a few times. Nothing. Is there another fuse in the A/C unit itself? Why would I suddenly not have power?
adwriter73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 02:56 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
Crusty's Avatar
 
1992 34' Excella
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 562
Images: 10
I think there's a fuse on the relay board inside the main unit. Unplug and replug the "phone" cable at both ends (switch off the power first). If that doesn't fix it then it's time to take it in.
__________________
Crusty
"If you come to a fork in the road, take it."
Austin, TX "Rancho Deluxe"
Crusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 01:17 PM   #11
4 Rivet Member
 
adwriter73's Avatar
 
1978 31' Sovereign
Dallas , Texas
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 352
Images: 9
UPDATE: It appears that the wire the CCC connected to lost power. This is the second wire I tapped into that suddenly lost power. I checked all fuses with a volt meter and all are fine. I don't know what these wire went to as everything in the trailer appears to be working. Now, I don't know what else I can connect to. I tried three other nearby wires and they are lights and fans (only seem to deliver power with the switches are "on"). Thoughts???
__________________

adwriter73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TX Veteran Designation on Drivers License Bluto Off Topic Forum 43 06-27-2012 01:31 AM
New refrig-Not real cold Rich of SCal Refrigerators 18 06-03-2012 09:31 PM
help! final questions before we pull the trigger on a 25' Eddie Bauer bc_seattle Member Introductions 31 05-10-2012 10:08 PM
Lost pc (#2221) on Reese trunnion bar Denbear Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches 1 03-26-2012 09:30 PM
1995 Airstream 190 camper on Ford Econoline Club Wagon van eBay Watch Airstreams on eBay 0 03-26-2012 06:50 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.