Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2019, 02:21 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
Currently Looking...
Lincolnshire , Illinois
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
2 AC Units - Program thermostat to run both at same time?

I have 2 factory installed ac units in my 2017 flying cloud. The thermostat has me setting zone 1 and zone 2 separately. Which means that one ac unit is generally running to cool both zones. The second unit never turns on because the interior is cooled by the first unit.

Ive tried setting each zone at different temperatures but the end result is that one ac unit does all the work while the other ac unit sits idle.

Can I program the thermostat to run them both at the same time? Seems much more efficient to use them both instead of allowing only one unit to do all the work.
__________________

Richz3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 02:27 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member
 
OriginalMrT's Avatar
 
2017 27' International
Orland Park , Illinois
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 51
They should definitely run at the same time if the demand call from the thermostat is there. At least that is the case for us, it usually only happens when we first hook up for the initial cool down. Then one unit mostly runs the show. We use the thermostat programming to run the unit in front at night and in the back during the day. 27FB
__________________

__________________
Mark
OriginalMrT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 02:42 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member
 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
Currently Looking...
Lincolnshire , Illinois
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
Thanks. Yes, they both run at start up. But like you, one ac unit will take over and run to cool both zones, while the other unit sits idle. Id prefer that both ac units run at the same time to cool our airstream. Seems much more efficient than having one ac unit do all the work while the other ac unit sits idle.
Richz3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 03:48 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
Mollysdad's Avatar
 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
Tampa , Florida
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,107
One unit is running because that's all that's required.
I sometimes will turn off the front unit, or run on "fan only" to minimize the noise if I'm in the front.
Same theory in the bedroom, run the front unit and the noise in the bedroom is reduced.
Two units are very powerful, consider it efficient.
Mollysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 11:21 AM   #5
1 Rivet Member
 
1976 31' Excella 500
N. Richland Hills , Texas
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richz3 View Post
I have 2 factory installed ac units in my 2017 flying cloud. The thermostat has me setting zone 1 and zone 2 separately. Which means that one ac unit is generally running to cool both zones. The second unit never turns on because the interior is cooled by the first unit.

Ive tried setting each zone at different temperatures but the end result is that one ac unit does all the work while the other ac unit sits idle.

Can I program the thermostat to run them both at the same time? Seems much more efficient to use them both instead of allowing only one unit to do all the work.

In order for the two low voltage power supplies to remain isolated, it is necessary to incorporate a master/slave control between the two units and one of the thermostats, whereby one thermostat controls two relays controlling each of the cooling functions, two for controlling the two heating functions, and for controlling the two for the fan functions. This puts a single thermostat in control of the two independent units.

Sounds complicated but in practice it is relative easy. You might take a look on Amazon ebay utube for such a ready made solution. If you don't find anything, I can help you with the details and final product and installation. Good Luck.
T2Airstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 12:49 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
wulfraat's Avatar
 
2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,580
Images: 1
Just set the temp to 40 degrees for
Both and theyll both run non stop
wulfraat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 03:31 PM   #7
1 Rivet Member
 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
Currently Looking...
Lincolnshire , Illinois
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by T2Airstream View Post
In order for the two low voltage power supplies to remain isolated, it is necessary to incorporate a master/slave control between the two units and one of the thermostats, whereby one thermostat controls two relays controlling each of the cooling functions, two for controlling the two heating functions, and for controlling the two for the fan functions. This puts a single thermostat in control of the two independent units.



Sounds complicated but in practice it is relative easy. You might take a look on Amazon ebay utube for such a ready made solution. If you don't find anything, I can help you with the details and final product and installation. Good Luck.


Sounds like the solution I was after - thanks. Ill check it out and get back to you if I need any help.
Richz3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 10:11 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
1988 32' Excella
Robbinsville , New Jersey
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,065
I don't believe running both at the same time would be anywhere near as efficient as just running 1 if the demand isn't really high enough for both. It would cause sort cycling which can reduce the useful life of the AC units. If there is high humidity they may not control it well and a lot of the efficiency would be lost trying to reduce the humidity.
The only real benefit of running both when 1 is enough is less time making noise.
Wazbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 04:59 AM   #9
2 Rivet Member
 
OriginalMrT's Avatar
 
2017 27' International
Orland Park , Illinois
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 51
You may also want to consider times when less than 50 amp service is available to power both units.
__________________
Mark
OriginalMrT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 07:02 AM   #10
Classy Roscoe
 
Jekerrville's Avatar
 
2017 30' Classic
1969 31' Sovereign
Kerrville , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 202
Richz3,
Your Dometic dual AC/Heat pump system using Dometic CCC2 TStat already has the feature built in!

There is no need to add any additional equipment, except one suggestion.

Down load the operations manual from the Dometic web site, (PDF) and look at page 16.

It will tell you how to set up “dual stage” operation where one compressor is primary and the other is slave.

In this way the entire vehicle is kept at your desired temperature and each is cycled as necessary .

Now the one “add on”.

If you don’t already have them, have installed MicroAir “Easy Start” units in both AC’s. Your AC/Heat pumps will love you and you will love them.

Safe Travels.
Jekerrville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 07:09 AM   #11
1 Rivet Member
 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
Currently Looking...
Lincolnshire , Illinois
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 9
Great post. Thanks to everyone for the quick replies!
Richz3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 07:21 AM   #12
4 Rivet Member
 
2018 28' International
Fayetteville , Georgia
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 493
You are over-thinking this. The system will run both, if there is demand. Set the temp lower on the unit you want to run as primary. Then leave it alone. Adjust front/rear temps as required.
__________________
brick
2018 International Serenity
Cute wife...
brick1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 12:10 PM   #13
3 Rivet Member
 
2015 28' Flying Cloud
Newtown , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 212
What is all the fuss? Disconnect the remote sensor from the #2 air conditioner. You can find the connector above the air intake. All modes will default to the main sensor in the CCC2. Both ACs will cycle off and on at the same time within 10 sec. of each other, as will the heat pump operation.

Bruce
__________________

__________________
50 amp, Awning package
2015 Ram 2500 6.7 TD, Blue Ox 1000 lb.
4 Lifeline AGM, Trimetric 2020
PD9160 converter, Prosine 1800 inverter
2x eu2000i Propane
AstroBruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tips for removing both wheels to replace both tires chaeha 2005 and newer - Bambi all models 16 10-31-2018 06:57 PM
Electrical help can't run light and radio at same time Doolin Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 16 08-20-2017 09:04 AM
Both awning pull loops broke in the same week jholder Awnings 1 09-22-2015 07:19 AM
Is floor frame construction method same for both Silver Streak and Avion? Tony S Vintage Kin 30 11-26-2013 10:09 PM
How to run both roof air units RoyTabernick Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 2 05-29-2009 08:59 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.