Old 06-10-2010, 08:08 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1978 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
SOUTH ANHERST , Ohio
Question about stove/oven

Qusstion
I am new to the AirStream family and know nothing really about them so here is my question , I HAVE JUST PURCHASED A 1975 ARGOSY 26 FT AND IT HAS A GAS STOVE , I HAVE TUNED ON THE GAS STOVE AND COULD HERE THE GAS , QUESTION THE STOVE? IT DID NOT LIGHT BY IT SELF. NOT REALLY SURE WHEN IT WAS LAST USED. LIKE I SAID I COULD HERE THE GAS , DID TRY TO LITE IT, BUT IT WOULD NOT FIRE UP .
THANKS ALL GEORGE

Old 06-10-2010, 09:17 PM   #2
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
1989 34.5' Airstream 345
Cleveland , Tennessee
More details would help but here goes my thoughts. Our 1989 MH has a Magic Chef oven. The cooktop burners do not have pilot lights or ignition sparkers. I have to light it manually. Yes, I do hear the gas flowing when turning the knobs. Make sure you don't hear it flow when not turned on. The oven has a pilot light. You have to turn the oven knob to pilot to light it. I have to count to 23 after tuning knob before lighting the pilot light. It then takes up to 2 minutes for the oven to light after turning the oven's knob. This is only immediately after lighting pilot. It will light right up if pilot has been lit a while. We leave the pilot lit while in the MH, but turn it off while rolling down the road.

Ricky

AIR 22749 WBCCI 2349 NOVA TAC TN-6
1989 345 LE Classic Motorhome
3 Dog Nite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 09:22 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1974 31' Sovereign
1970 23' Safari
1956 26' Cruiser Overlander
Lambertville , Michigan