Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2017, 05:57 PM   #1
New Member
 
Tschupp's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 2
Induction Cooktop

Just bought a Classic 2006 with s/o. I want to replace my gas stove top with a two burner induction cooktop. Has anyone done this. If so, happy with results?
__________________

__________________
Tschupp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2017, 06:41 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member
 
2014 30' Flying Cloud
Ponce Inlet , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 75
We put in a Truinduction cooktop over a year ago. Love it! Had to replace the countertop because of the difference in size between the gas and the induction.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0979.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	153.4 KB
ID:	296157   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0998.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	179.4 KB
ID:	296159  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0991.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	225.6 KB
ID:	296160  
__________________

__________________
bunni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 09:02 AM   #3
2 Rivet Member
 
2014 30' Flying Cloud
Ponce Inlet , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 75
Hubbie just told me they make a slightly smaller model now. And you might not have to replace the counter.
__________________
bunni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 09:30 AM   #4
3 Rivet Member
 
dmbecke's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Des Peres , Missouri
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 136
How many amps do these draw?
__________________
dmbecke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 09:57 AM   #5
Half a Rivet Short
 
2017 30' Classic
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmbecke View Post
How many amps do these draw?
Hi

That's the gotcha.

You pick the power output when you shop for the stove top. More cooking heat means more electrical draw. The stock answer is - more than you want to run off of the standard batteries, less than what matters on shore power. I believe the one shown pulls 1,800W (so full load = 15A, wire it to a 20A breaker).

Bob
__________________
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 05:55 PM   #6
3 Rivet Member
 
2014 30' Flying Cloud
Ponce Inlet , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 165
Bunni's DH here,

The induction cooktop pulls 1800 watts at full power. We rarely use full power except to boil water.

I use the microwave circuit for power. That limits you to using one at a time. I have a work around using a 20Amp rated extension cord. We have only used it a couple of times. It ain't purdy but it works.

You do need to think about batteries/generator if you plan to boondock.
If you plan to boondock with the factory batteries and no generator this is probably a less than ideal set up.

We have 600 AH lithium battery bank and solar. It allows us to boondock for 3-4 days in crappy weather with a little energy conservation. A generator would also work as well.
__________________
Beach Bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2017, 09:54 AM   #7
3 Rivet Member
 
LAWBC's Avatar
 
2013 27' FB International
2012 23' Flying Cloud
Victoria , British Columbia
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 116
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tschupp View Post
Just bought a Classic 2006 with s/o. I want to replace my gas stove top with a two burner induction cooktop. Has anyone done this. If so, happy with results?
Go with a portable induction cook top Salton single as we have or double . What I like about them is you can tune your power to cook in Watts or Temp . So you can actually draw down to 800 watts . Also note I have changed out the starter on the gas cook top to electronic, that is a cheap and good mod. Sorry pic is on its side .
BTW Bunni nice layout

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	stove.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	153.8 KB
ID:	296955  
__________________
Laurence
LAWBC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2017, 03:17 PM   #8
2 Rivet Member
 
2014 30' Flying Cloud
Ponce Inlet , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 75
The portable is a great idea. We used one for a year before we put in the countertop model. I'm short and using the portable on top of the gas stove -- We used a wooden cutting board type thing on top of the stove -- was a little high for me. We still use the portable to cook outside.
__________________

__________________
bunni is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Induction Cooking dghaas Stella's Kitchen 9 11-02-2016 08:34 PM
Induction cooktop? shermantic Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 9 12-28-2015 12:27 PM
Portable Induction Cooktop urnmor Stella's Kitchen 17 01-11-2015 11:47 AM
Induction Cooktop BAB Stoves, Ovens & Microwaves 22 01-13-2014 10:30 PM
Ceramic/Induction Cooker Top/Hob degs123 Stoves, Ovens & Microwaves 2 04-25-2010 03:15 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.